Archive for July 24th, 2008

h1

Penelope

July 24, 2008

I was going to post about my reactions to all the gender in blogging comments I’ve been reading of late, but it’s already 9:25 am and I have GOT to attempt to rein in this blogging addiction I have!  (my butt hurts from sitting in this chair the last 3 – THREE!!! – hours and I haven’t even peeked at what’s rockin’ on my book blog yet.)

SO, I’m going to tell you just a bit about a movie I saw the other day:   Penelope.      I saw this solely on the idea of my nose being my least favorite body part.    Cursed!!

I have two words:   JAMES.     and     McAVOY. 

I didn’t even realize he was in this!     I want to see Wanted  with Angelina Jolie, I swooned for him in Atonement.    It seems like I just saw something else with him in it but the list isn’t helping me recall what:   (his page on imdb.com)

He was Mr. Tumnus in The Chronicles of Narnia – LOOOOVE this series…   Apparently he plays a doctor in The Last King of Scotland and YES!   (you have to ask?)  I will see Becoming Jane !!!  (I’ve seen the trailer a bunch and as soon as hub goes on another work trip, I’ll watch the whole thing a few times – I watch a lot of my chick flick choices when he is out of town.)

He has that unidentifiable MUST-WATCH quality…   

Another actor in Penelope that I think is good is Peter Dinklage;  see The Station Agent.    One of those movies I could watch over and over.

 

OH, I’m sorry.   You want to read a review of the movie?   It’s about a girl who is cursed to have a pig nose and what she has to do to be ‘beautiful’ again.    It’s good, it’s fun, but not great.