Archive for June 19th, 2008

h1

Strawberry Moon

June 19, 2008

What a fun week I’m having!     (I didn’t take these photos…)  Last night, the full moon glowed so pretty!   The nice TV weathercasters say that the full moon in June is called a Strawberry Moon.   It’s lovely – did you see it?   Look tonight!      

I attempted photos since tomorrow’s Photo Friday theme is A Midsummer’s Night – and I haven’t a clue what to do for it.    I have yet to load these attempts to the computer but I don’t think I did as well as these folks.        

After a long day at the office yesterday (um, 9 am to 3 pm…   When I was driving away, my car clock showed 3:01 – maybe I was in a hurry to skedaddle, huh?)   and then taking a few bottles back to the packie (liquor store) to reclaim the $1.80 that my Dunkin Donuts cinnamon coffee with cream cost me.   Oh not really!  I put that $1.80 towards a box of red wine…

I had another tutoring session with my new Brazilian Portuguese speaking friend and we are having a lot of fun.   I hope she is.   I made up a tonque twister for her to practice her ‘th’ sounds:

The tenth and thirtieth thirsty thinkers think many thoughts.     

And I’ve told her she’s not allowed to say the word ‘make‘.    She overuses it and incorrectly, at that.   She was a bit apprehensive at this request.      We are breaking a few double negative habits, too. 

 ♦

Now TODAY!    I have 3 sessions of computer training at the nursing home.   Half the residents are quite independent and I offered to teach anyone who is interested to “DO EMAIL”.   I have seven ladies and one gentleman signed up.   

I gave them instructions to WRITE DOWN their kids/grandkids email addresses on paper.   I hope I can get everyone set up!     Mouse skills come second after a quick overview of the simplest terms I can think of.    Please wish me luck!   I really do think this will be fun.    How rewarding if I can actually get some grandparents in communication with the g-kids!     

One question I’ve already had:    “But what if they aren’t sitting at their computer when we send the letter?”  

Goodness, what have I gotten myself into!?

OH – and next week, I’m helping a guy start a WordPress Blog!   Thru our library program.    I’ve only emailed him, requesting what time to meet, what’s his blog name, etc.     and he has yet to sign up with WP.   Apparently he wants to KNOW EVERYTHING first.   At least he’s got email.   Another fun adventure to occupy my liveliness…

 

Lastly, who loves Alan Rickman?   I rented the film Snow Cake – loved it.    Extremely interesting movie…  quirky in a good way.