h1

Strawberry Moon

June 19, 2008

What a fun week I’m having!     (I didn’t take these photos…)  Last night, the full moon glowed so pretty!   The nice TV weathercasters say that the full moon in June is called a Strawberry Moon.   It’s lovely – did you see it?   Look tonight!      

I attempted photos since tomorrow’s Photo Friday theme is A Midsummer’s Night – and I haven’t a clue what to do for it.    I have yet to load these attempts to the computer but I don’t think I did as well as these folks.        

After a long day at the office yesterday (um, 9 am to 3 pm…   When I was driving away, my car clock showed 3:01 – maybe I was in a hurry to skedaddle, huh?)   and then taking a few bottles back to the packie (liquor store) to reclaim the $1.80 that my Dunkin Donuts cinnamon coffee with cream cost me.   Oh not really!  I put that $1.80 towards a box of red wine…

I had another tutoring session with my new Brazilian Portuguese speaking friend and we are having a lot of fun.   I hope she is.   I made up a tonque twister for her to practice her ‘th’ sounds:

The tenth and thirtieth thirsty thinkers think many thoughts.     

And I’ve told her she’s not allowed to say the word ‘make‘.    She overuses it and incorrectly, at that.   She was a bit apprehensive at this request.      We are breaking a few double negative habits, too. 

 ♦

Now TODAY!    I have 3 sessions of computer training at the nursing home.   Half the residents are quite independent and I offered to teach anyone who is interested to “DO EMAIL”.   I have seven ladies and one gentleman signed up.   

I gave them instructions to WRITE DOWN their kids/grandkids email addresses on paper.   I hope I can get everyone set up!     Mouse skills come second after a quick overview of the simplest terms I can think of.    Please wish me luck!   I really do think this will be fun.    How rewarding if I can actually get some grandparents in communication with the g-kids!     

One question I’ve already had:    “But what if they aren’t sitting at their computer when we send the letter?”  

Goodness, what have I gotten myself into!?

OH – and next week, I’m helping a guy start a WordPress Blog!   Thru our library program.    I’ve only emailed him, requesting what time to meet, what’s his blog name, etc.     and he has yet to sign up with WP.   Apparently he wants to KNOW EVERYTHING first.   At least he’s got email.   Another fun adventure to occupy my liveliness…

 

Lastly, who loves Alan Rickman?   I rented the film Snow Cake – loved it.    Extremely interesting movie…  quirky in a good way.   

4 comments

  1. I knew it was a full moon last night. I looked it up the day before on my calendar and then forgot to look at it.

    It sounds like you are keeping busy.I’ve taught a few people how to use computers, just friends. I think it’s terrific what you do at the nursing home.

    I Looove Alan Rickman. “Truly, Madly, Deeply” from 1990 is an excellent Rickman film if you haven’t already seen it. He plays Prof. Snape in the Harry Potter movies and is great in that part too. He also played the bad Sherif of Nottingham in the Kevin Costner version of “Robin Hood” in 1991. He says one of the funniest lines in movie history (at least to me) in that movie. “That’s it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings, and call off Christmas”. It was in the way he said it that made me laugh and never forget that line. I could go on and on about him. But I’ve never seen “Snow Cake” So I can’t wait to see it.

    YES! Rickman is just amazing. We actually collect Robin Hood movies, so YES, I remember that scene well. I have to re-rent Truly Madly Deeply – I think I’ve seen it but it’s a foggy memory. You will LOVE Snow Cake – I’d better money or wt watcher points on it!


  2. Wow C! I took some pics like that last year but it was kind of a golden pink – do you think that makes it a banana-strawberry smoothie moon?

    I love that you are helping out the senior citizens – it’s so sweet and I loved the first question. You are definitely going to have some adventures with those folks, make sure you report every one.

    Annie

    Sure! A strawberry-banana smoothie moon! Yes, of course. I’ll post on update on my senior computing students soon.


  3. Glad you enjoyed Snow Cake – Alan Rickman is really cool!

    Love the full moon pic – now that would have made a good Photo Friday entry!!! Especially if you digitally added a fairy to sit atop it!

    uh, if I knew how to add a fairy – or a little fishing boy like some movie company logo…


  4. You are inspiring! Love the tongue twister, shoot, I had a hard time with it myself! Oh, and teaching the elderly to send emails to their family is just one of the nicest things I’ve heard in a long, long time! And, about the full moon- we’ve had 2 GORGEOUS 100% full moons the last 2 nights but that scares me- I say, “OH NO, IT’S A FULL MOON” because I work nights and that usually means all the weirdo’s come out 😦 I’m glad it makes you happy though!

    Thanks, JQ! I keep modifying that twister – I’m swapping out the end part to be ‘thinking ARTHRITIC thoughts’! whadda ya think? even harder now, huh?

    I have heard from more than one person who works medical that full moons DO bring out the crazies…



Leave a Reply

