h1

Annoy and Inspire

September 4, 2009

I decided this would be a great place and a good time for me to vent.   But I quickly thought I should balance this with some opposite-rant;  thus the title to this post.    I will list a few pet peeves and then counter with a few things that make me smile.      Let’s see which attitude-influencers WIN!   woo hoo!!

ANNOYING #1:    I get annoyed that people send emails with too few details.   Specifically, the requests I get to invite me to bring my dog to a pet-therapy opportunity.    Seldom do they mention what TOWN they are in!     I’ll get a quick email that announces orientation at Ayer Public Library and…   THAT’s IT!    No, grand thank you for signing up months ago to do this, just ‘hey – here are the dates’.      UM.     huh?  who ARE you?  WHERE are you?   What exactly did I sign up for made you send me this email today?!    SO, now I have to go dig up more details and I really wish I could send an email back, HEY!   WHO ARE YOU!!?!??!

INSPIRATION:     I really have to take a deep breath and just let the faint vague details come to me:    This is an opportunity for me to bring my dog to a program assisting young children learning to read.    Apparently, a child is more comfortable reading aloud to a DOG audience of one and reading scores improve with regular sessions.     I really think Oscar is an excellent calm listener and am eager to do good and help improve a young reader’s ability and foster a love for reading.     Sounds AWESOME, doesn’t it?   At least, I think this email is about that program I signed up for months ago and haven’t heard anything about since…

ANNOY #2:    Husband’s piss-poor attitude this morning.   RRRRrrrrrrrr.     It’s not MY fault you went fishing yesterday and the exhaustion of your FUN day has caused you to be extremely irritable this morning.      He is anything but pleasant this morning.

INSPIRATION:    I must be thankful that my husband has opportunities to pursue his fishing passion and that he left me alone all day yesterday.    I read over half the book I’m currently enjoying AND I got to watch Project Runway without bothering him.     And I’m really glad that he didn’t decide to work from home today.

ANNOY #3:     I get annoyed and SADDENED when people too hastily assume that all creativity and the term ARTIST only means talent for drawing!   COME ON ALREADY!!    what ARE the schools teaching these days!?    Everyone on the planet who has thoughts in their heads are creative.    CREATIVE does NOT mean skilled at pen and paper drawing!     UGH – I can’t express it enough how thoroughly irritated I get that people do not understand the word CREATIVITY!

Here’s what happened yesterday:     I got my hair cut.    I hate getting my hair cut.    I don’t feel pampered, I feel afraid.     I realize this is something I need to tweak my attitude about but it’s still a struggle to set through a session and not wish is was over about 10 minutes after the snipping begins.     ANYWAY, the stylist was complimenting her work and I sincerely said,

“I take it as a good sign that the artist is admiring her work.”

And she replied,  “Oh, I’m not an artist.   I can’t draw at all.   My little sister is only eleven but she’s really good at drawing things.”

sigh…

INSPIRATION:    I love flowers.     I can see my zinnias outside my window as I glance up from the keyboard trying to find a countering inspiration to my wish that all people would consider and appreciate their own creativity…     Flowers.    Flowers, flowers, flowers…

EasterFlowers

7 comments

  1. This is wonderful. It’s inspiring to watch you have an inspiration after an “Annoy”! I hope you do hook up with the dog/reading people. What a great idea. Annoy #2 made me giggle (sorry) especially the Inspiration—way to go!
    And, as for #3, me, too! About haircuts AND artists. Not only do I not feel pampered, I don’t LIKE to be pampered. I know some who do, but I like to be left alone, for the most part. The creativity thing: “Hear, hear!”


  2. It’s a real blessing to be able to counter life’s annoyances with the +’s in life. You are a wonderful girl!

    The boundaries for creativity are endless….. I live for the creative juices flowing… – what’s better than that?


  3. Hey C!
    I hear you on that creativity thing. You know a lot of people don’t think of writers as artists? Weird, huh? Loved the flowers you’re a gardening artiste! 🙂
    Annie


  4. The yin and the yan ~ balance is good.


  5. Wow, I really like the sound of that program helping children to read! I’ve heard animals also do well in hospitals with treatment for anxiety and depression. Our furry friends are apparently better for us than some of us like to think!


  6. Nicely balanced post C. Flowers flowers flowers … 🙂


  7. I decided to leave my note here.
    I am going to go straight to your point about an artist. I totally agree with your words–art is far beyond drawing..even gardening is an art! So I have to say, this photo was divine..and so are your honest writings!!

    Happy holidays to you!



Leave a Reply

