h1

Pears and Pecans

June 3, 2009

I found a new ice cream flavor I had to try:   Haagen-Dazs Caramelized Pear and Toasted Pecan.

haagen--dazs-caramelized-pear-pecans-777466

My searching for more information seems to say that this was a limited release flavor from 2007.    Eek!  and it’s just now for sale at my grocery store?   Please tell me they’ve re-released it and I’m not enjoying 2 year old ice cream.

And/but, it’s only OK.     I think it would taste better as a pie! So that’s what I’m going to do next week:   I am going to invent a Caramelized Pear and Toasted Pecan Pie.

I did find a few recipes to bounce off from when I searched “Pear Pecan Pie” but none of these required any caramelizing nor toasting, so that’s my plan!

Wish me luck.

12 comments

  1. Oh C,
    It’s so good we aren’t neighbors, I’d be at your house all the time, eating. LOL. That sounds delish – the pie I mean, not the two year old ice cream. Man they must have had quite the deep freezer, eh?
    Annie


    • I finally looked at the carton and it shows a SELL-BY date of October 2009 so maybe???? they’ve reissued? I wouldn’t have believed that long of shelf (or freezer) life!


  2. Wouldn’t the pears just caramelize/pecans just toast as you cooked them? I mean, maybe not (I’m not a baker), but it seems to me that’s what they do. You’ll have to tell me how it turns out, because now I want a slice!


    • What excellent questions Ron! However, the answers are NO. You CAN caramel the sugar in pears by a cooking process but usually not when the pears are encased in pie dough – in THIS pie, caramel CANDIES will be added thus, the pie ‘title’ may have to be changed to just Caramel Pear and Toasted Pecan Pie. And the pecans won’t get toasted, either, if INSIDE the pie. I will have to toast them first in the oven BEFORE adding if indeed I decide to use them as a filling. I might actually toast the pecans first and use in the pie dough itself OR add a toasted pecan topping rather than a pie pastry top. Hey – I might have to make all three versions….


  3. Snap, that looks delicious!


    • SNAP!!! I love it. You are so cool. snap, snap…


  4. OMG – old ice cream? Well, I guess things really do last in the deep freeze! LOL. Strangely enough though – when I first started reading the first sentence or two of this post, I was thinking, “Hmmm – that sounds like a good combination for a pie,” and I wondered if you thought of that. Didn’t take much more reading for me to find out that you did. I hope you try it because it sounds delish and if anyone can make a pie, it is YOU! 🙂

    It just HAS to be a re-issue, right?! and this comment is proof that great minds think alike….


  5. Sounds delicious! I love pears and pecan nuts.


    • Come on over and I’ll whip up this pie just for you. And Annie – can’t forget to invite Annie the Writer Chick, now can I?


  6. Oh yeah! That would be a fine pie too, wouldn’t it? We’re still stuck on B&J’s Coffee Heathbar Crunch. Though Hagen Daz had a limited run of a flavor called Sticky Toffee Something or Other that was featured on a Food Network show. It was yum too. I wonder if there could be such a thing as garlic ice cream?


    • Oh David, garlic ice cream? I bet I can attempt a garlic pie, though – a savory artichoke and garlic concoction??


      • Oh holy crap! A garlic pie … that’s brilliant! With artichoke would be heavenly. Sort of a quiche-like thing maybe? With parmesan or some other hard and well aged cheese?



Leave a Reply

