h1

Partial Post

April 21, 2009

Howdy.

I have started and deleted I dont know HOW MANY posts and thought I’d best just put anything ‘out here’.   But nothing has seemed interesting or blog-worthy.  I have been visiting you all and lurking (by ‘you’ I mean all of you who might be wondering what’s happened to me and why I haven’t posted here awhile.  You know who you are, right?!)

Allow me to give you a sample of various thoughts streaming across my consciousness:

It’s raining here today.   

I am addicted to the TV show Bones.   Anyone see it last night?!

I read 300 pages for last weekend’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon.    It may not seem like much but it probably represents about 6 hours of reading time.     So, what was I doing the other 18 hours of the ‘Thon!?     I slept about an hour and half (it was a NAP!)  and I went to yoga class for 2 hours.   Of course, there are some activities that are difficult to do while reading and I did some of those.   and the rest of it, I was blogging!   Reading posts of other readers, participating in mini-challenges to keep us all excited about the Read-A-Thon, and commenting.   COMMMENTING COMMENTING COMMENTING and all the clicks and links and reading posts to comment on.    That’s what took most of my remaining 14 hours:   cheering on the approximately 150 other participants!      It was fun.   🙂

I’m reading The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett;  I’m about half way through the 972 pages.    After I finish, I will continue to read Oliver Sacks’ The Man Who Thought His Wife Was a Hat.     And then I hope to start In the Woods by Tara French.  

If you want to know what I’m up to blogging-wise and don’t know about my book blog, you may want to visit me there by clicking here.     

I’ve made a few pies lately:    Chocolate Pecan, Orange Meringue, Chocolate Cream, etc.    I’ll be baking a Bourbon Apple tomorrow.

Oscar is the most apathetic therapy dog in the universe.    But he’s loved and beloved so I keep dragging him along on my volunteer visits.   It’s not that he is unfriendly;  more like obstinately apathetic in a cooperative kind of way.

I haven’t traveled anywhere lately but I have a trip scheduled to Phoenix in May.

I’m having lunch this Friday with my friend Teeni – looking forward to that!    Maybe we’ll take a photo.    We’ll definitely be talking about Joan

When I logged into this blog today, I noticed that a few days ago, one of my posts had 133 hits.   WOW!    It was one of my Duffy posts…    I’ve been averaging about 20 hits a day here, in case you want to compare stats…

It’s really strange how I have set up such different worlds between my blogs.    Almost like having two different residences – my summer home versus my vacation home?    Totally different neighborhoods, weather, architectural styles…     It’s just odd, in a way.    

A huge happy hip THANK YOU to JavaQueen for granting me some linky-love and giving me an award!   The one called Let’s Be Friends!!   yes, let’s!

By the way, does one’s avatar ‘go away’ with disuse?     I’ve been leaving comments under this ID but my pretty little kite isn’t showing up…

Well, just bookmark this post for when you need to get some sleep.  ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzz.   But, it’s SOMETHING!

kite_e

12 comments

  1. Hi!!!!!!!!!!!!!


  2. Glad to see you posting and I’m looking forward to lunch this week too! It will be fun. If Joan wants us to discuss anything in particular about her she will have to let us know. LOL. Those pies sound delicious. If you find any vegan recipes, let me know! Congrats on your award!

    I’m working on that email to you… really, I am!


  3. I’ve tried making Bourbon Apple Pies but I always end up using one of the main ingredients before the pie is made.

    Yes – that is a risk. Which is why I used only the tiny bottle of bourbon.


  4. Hey C,
    I love your stream of consciousness posts – they totally update us on you. Sounds like you’ve been having way more fun than me lately. Sorry I came back west before we had a chance to hook up. Would have loved to try that pecan pie. Yummy!
    Annie

    I made two of those choc pecan pies – they supposedly keep well frozen. I’m not sure what occasion I will treat myself with it… Good to have an update on YOU and I hope all turns into a fun prosperous adventure.


  5. Hope your hub had a happy birthday yesterday. Good to see you posting again.

    Howdy! Hub had a nice birthday. 🙂 Thanks for leaving me that wonderful comment at my other blog!


  6. I thought I made a comment here when you wrote this. I even remember what I wrote –sort of. Sometimes I read posts and make comments in my head but forget to actually write them. I hope you guys had a good time. BTW, this post didn’t put me to sleep at all. I was glad to find out what you’re doing. 😉

    Hi Joan! We DID talk about you, ya know. We talked abt EVERYTHING, I think.


  7. Yes, I do know who I am. I liked this. You are interesting. Why are you going to Phoenix? You’ll be two hours away from me! 🙂

    Howdy, Hub is going to Phoenix for some kind of Supply Chain conference and I’m just tagging along.


  8. We love Bones too. It is very silly sometimes, but that’s OK since Tempy and Booth are so dang cute. And what’s her name the sexpot going celibate, she’s just as hot as can be, right?

    Oh the Sacks book is The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat. A fascinating book about aphasia. I almost remember it. I read it years ago, before I was born.

    This post did NOT put me to sleep, but nice try!


  9. Apathetic therapy dog … that made me laugh. I can just see poor Oscar, trotting along thinking ‘Oh boy, here we go again. All these people patting me on the head and calling me a good doggie, when all I want to do is chase balls in the backyard. Sigh. Well, I’ll do this, again, for her.”


  10. Hey C!
    Just popped in to say HI! How’s it going?
    Annie


  11. Hey C, how are ya? Sorry I’ve been absent as of late. How was your lunch w/ Teeni??? Oh, you are two lucky girls to get to hang out with each other. Seems like you’re doing a lot of reading, napping, baking, and such- that’s a really good thing. I like these misc. posts with random facts!

    I don’t know about you but I’m soooooooo looking forward to summer weather and being able to get out more!

    xoxoxoxo


  12. I find that I definitely need some good napping after reading. Not because it’s boring, but because you get so into it you’re all worn out from all the mental excitement!



Leave a Reply

