h1

RWBO

February 22, 2009

Remember my glory days of blogging?  hee hee, I don’t know how you will react to that but it amuses me.    It amuses me because I realize I haven’t been blogging ‘over here’ very much and the topics I’ve posted on lately have frustrated me (movies and my lack of whatever (motivation!?) to go see any) AND – warning:  run on sentence in the midst of, we are – I’m drinking wine.

Red* wine.  markwest

fetzer Do you recall RWBI?    Well, back in the day, May of last year, I was yapping about the nights my hub was out of town and American Idol was on.   And I was enjoying a glass or five of red wine.     Click here to read the first of that glorious series.

Where was I?

Oh yea.   THE OSCARS ARE ON, my PEOPLE!    Maybe by the time you read this, they’ll be over, but I’m blogging at my breakfast nook table on my new Mac laptop watching the red carpet nonsense waiting for HUGH Jackman to start the festivities.   

Yea, I know!   Why am I not in my home theatre watching the glamour?!?!

Well.

Well, the hub is home.    He wants to watch ‘something else.’    I guess racin’ is on… 

What the __?!  what a good wife I am.    He KNOWS I love the Oscars!    He is being mean.   

I’m thinking about calling the sub coordinator and telling her I can’t work tomorrow.    Subbing is awesome, like that!   If I don’t want to work tomorrow, I don’t have to.

I did see Slumdog Millionaire.   (ROMI!  I saw it!   Yes, I agree!!   Great GREAT movie.)  

Movies I Actually Saw That Might Win Gold Statues Tonight:    Slumdog Millionaire, Wall-E.      

I think that’s it.

So pathetic.     I think I’ll have some more wine…

* Red wine is safer than white wine.   Although it can keep me awake (sulfites, they say), it doesn’t wipe my short term memory like white wine does…

** and if you’ve read this far, just want to share that we made an offer on a boat.     It was about 75% of suggested retail price, so we are waiting for a counter or a reject…

***   Hey JL!    Did you sign up?!??!    hope so!

****  OHHHHHH so cute!   They just interviewed those adorable child actors from Slumdog and they are PRECIOUS!   so cute.  I hope they are having a great time in America – what a wild ride this must be.   TDC!   Too Damn Cute.

5 comments

  1. Hi C,

    Did you know that the slumdog child actors are from the actual slums? I’m sure they will have been paid well and that money may be able to help their families – but it does concern me that they will see all that fake glitz and obscene money being thrown at everything, whilst at the Oscars – then they’ll go back home and the poverty will seem even worse. If that’s possible.

    Of course their new fame, may mean they are able to escape their poverty for good. But what about all the others and how will they feel about those fellow children who can’t escape?

    I’m not wanting to p*ss on anyone’s parade but it does make you think, doesn’t it?

    Wouldn’t it be great if just for once the big glitzy Oscars was deliberately kept small and minimal money was spent on it – and the money saved was used to help children in those slums for instance? I was reading this weekend about the freebie gifts the rich and famous stars get at these events; it seemed ironic that stars that earn an absolute fortune for acting in a film (and by most people’s standards are very rich because of that) yet get given freebies. Surely they can afford to pay for the things they want? Yes, the gift suites do have a desk where gifts can be donated to charity, once chosen … but it’s not very busy.

    It’s quite thought provoking isn’t it?

    At least the film “Slumdog” is raising public awareness of the plight of these children. It is truly heartbreaking to see the conditions they live in.

    Jan

    Yes, Jan, I’ve seen it – heartbreaking is the word.


  2. I only caught the tail end of the Oscars, but I’m glad Slumdog Millionaire won. And seriously, I’ve heard Mickey Rourke has gone through some tough times, but am I missing something? Sean Penn turns his best actor speech into a Mickey Rourke tribute, what the hell happened to the poor guy to warrant this? I feel like I should be sending money and sweaters, somebody fill me in!

    I wish I could tell you what’s up with the Rourke love, but I really don’t know the full story. I thought Slumdog the movie was incredible.


  3. Well, now I have to see Slumdog Millionaire because
    1) You really liked it
    2) They made out well at the Oscars!

    I think I may skip Wall-E though unless I get dragged into it by a niece or nephew. LOL.

    Oh, I was very happy and surprised that I loved Wall-E so much. Really – it’s a sweet movie. But if you really need a shoot-em-up, I’ll recomment Wanted…


  4. Thanks for the link – it’s heartwarming to see that something is being done for the children in the slums. It’s hard for us to imagine the excruciating poverty of their everyday life.

    I just wish more children could benefit.

    I know, I know. Thanks for the yellow roses. 🙂


  5. ‘Twas nice to find you chatting about your people again..and I do remember last year.
    I love red wine too..as of late, muscadine red wine has been my choice. It is a local grape…used to grow wild in the state.

    I hope your boat purchase was a success. 🙂

    We won’t be calling it a success until we get the thing in the water and can spend some time enjoying it.



Leave a Reply

