h1

And the Adventure Begins…

January 15, 2009

If you’ve been eagerly awaiting further installments in the saga that is MY LIFE, ever since I posted last week on my new move into the world of employment, the world of education, the role that is now mine of being a SU BST  ITUT E      TEA   CHER…

Read on.

I was called the other night to sub for a nth grade (not ninth, but the grade between 6 and 8, think  n=7)  $ci3nc3 teacher.    [uh?  should I be NOT tagging this or not making this findable?    These days, who knows?   I bet the poor teacher who had to call in for an absence really doesn’t want to see this and now gets to read all about it on the interweb?   eek.   Now I’m all self conscious.]

Did you figure out my code for sci  ence?    I AM SO PARANOID.  ugh.   I”m sure blogging about this is frowned upon.

I survived.

I probably should have thrown a few of the more bizzy energetic ones to the slammer (principal’s office) but I didn’t.    A few thrown pens (oh, just one), maybe spitballs (I didn’t get close enough to investigate moisture), notes passing, up and down and out of seats, etc.

In fact, a few of the classes were downright boring with their beautiful and successful attempts to do self-work on the assignment, quietly and in their own seats for the entire 46 minute period.    ‘Few’ is overstating.    A couple, is more accurate.   Out of 5 classes, 1 “quiet” reading session, and 1 over the top chaotic ‘Directed Study’ time which was not the class with the rabblerousers.

I got some help from other teachers and it was effective but I was embarrassed.   Oh well.    “Sad Sorry Sub Sucks At Sacking Students”

This is lame but one kid did drop his pencil and say, “oops, I dropped my wood.”     and looked to me eagerly for a response.    I just looked at him with pathetic ambivalence.   Well, that was the look I was going for.

Yea, I should have thrown those note-passing, pencil-crushing,very- smiley obnoxious boys onto the path of detention.   I kept thinking I was wimping out, though.     I’ll do better next time.

I was so proud that the last session was so darn quiet!   Maybe it just took me a few hours to figure it out?   [But it wasn’t nearly as much fun.]

Good kids, really.   I was pleasantly happy with my first day.

6 comments

  1. Yay C! Good job surviving! And nice job with the anonymous documentation of your day. I’m sure you earned that $50. You GO girl.

    I spent some years as a teacher aide and sometimes would be pressed into emergency substitute duty (also in a middle school). It was not always fun. 🙂


  2. Glad you survived them. It will get easier. I was a nervous wreck when I started teaching the 6th, 7th, and 8th grade art classes once a week and even had a fiasco with yarn and two eighth graders, nine weeks in, I had half of the eighth grade class taken out of class by the principle that day. It has gotten easier, but I have a new challenge every week.
    Off the subject now, This Lutheran school I am teaching at is one that I went to for first and second grade, so it was kinda neat to be asked to teach art there…


  3. Congrats! I always found “nth” grade *wink wink* to be the all-time worst. So if you can say “I was pleasantly happy with my first day” after teaching them, the other grades will most likely be a breeze!!!

    Keep us posted!


  4. YAY! You survived. LOL. You can only get better, my dear, not worse so if it went this well then that is a good sign. 🙂 I would also have struggled with that idea of sending them to detention so you are not alone. Anyway, congratulations! 🙂


  5. Woo! Glad it went well. Two weeks and most jobs start to become easier or at least not so nerve wracking. Two more weeks and you’ll be the raddest principal-sending-to sub ever 😉


  6. This takes me back. I was a teacher for 10 years – but I think it was easier in those days (1982 – 1992) so good on ya – It’s tough standing in front of some of the arsiest, attitudinal and cheeky age groups going!



Leave a Reply

