h1

Curious Movie Monday

January 12, 2009

Curious Movie Monday Vol I, Issue 2.   Curious “C” Goes to the Movies!   But not really – watches what she can, when she can and most are from Netflix.    Her attempt to see all the movies up for reward this award season.

This past week, I saw Empire Falls (2005), Laurel Canyon (2003) and Burn After Reading (2008 ) for the second time.

Empire Falls is terrific and terrifically acted.     I recommend the book, too – the movie is faithful to the story.

Laurel Canyon has some HOT!  scenes and I don’t mean fire.   (If you have to ask, think skinny dipping/multiple people, etc.)    Starring Frances McDormand, Kate Beckinsale and Christian Bale – what’s not to love, right?    And also Alessandro Nivola – I recognized him but couldn’t place him.   [He was Nick Cage’s little brother in Face Off.]    This story, however, about Harvard recent grads moving from hoidy toidy New England to stay with some free living and free loving musicians in LA, left me unaffected.

Burn After Reading is a Coen Brothers’ feature so I love it.    Not my favorite of theirs but ever so quirky and ridiculous and fun.      Enjoy this summation but don’t watch if you don’t like the F-word.   It’s really the only dialog here.

I have to say I’m quite excited for Kate Winslet winning the Golden Globes for both The Reader and Revolutionary Road!   Congrats Kate!!   Can’t wait to see these.    (I read The Reader – excellent book.)

4 comments

  1. I saw “Burn After Reading” and I just wasn’t satisfied with the end. Didn’t have enough closure for me, for some reason. I think movies where you get such an intimate introduction to such fascinating characters makes me want the story to go on forever. But I did really enjoy the movie.

    Yea, it almost seemed they just had to kill off the characters to end it. But, as I think about it, it works as a tale of crazy connections and coincidences and loose ends just getting F%&%ed, so it ends OK for me. Maybe because I saw it twice. I love the last scene with JK Simmons!


  2. I was so happy for Kate as well! Leo did so well in that movie too, but he never seems to win anything though, haha (but I did manage to watch The Wrestler right before the Globes, and wow, Mickey Rourke was pretty great in that!)

    Happy continued movie watching 🙂

    Thanks Romi, I don’t know if I’ll get to see the Wrestler anytime soon. I want to watch Slumdog Millionaire next!


  3. I want to see Empire Falls! And my hubby likes the Coen brothers so I’m sure I’ll end up watching that too. Isn’t Netflix awesome though? It’s the only way I can catch up on the movies I really want to see.

    Yep, I love netflix. I wish they had a category of ‘returned but hope to watch later’ because I’ve decided that if it’s been inhouse for 2+weeks and we haven’t watched it? we must not be in the right mood. So, then the rating thing is just not right. oh well.


  4. I am also very excited to see Revolutionary Road. I thought her acceptance speech was perfect, just the right amount of charming bewilderment. She’s so adorable. I really want to see The Wrestler too. Jeez, I need to get out more. If there wasn’t all this snow in the way…

    I’m getting tired of looking at my white lawn, too. But I’ll miss it as soon as it melts. We’ve had more snow this year than I’m used to.



Leave a Reply

