h1

Curious Monday Movies Vol I, Issue 1

January 5, 2009

Only saw one movie this past week:   Wall-E.

walle

LOVED it!   Not my favorite animated flick, but very good.     Wall-E is a cute little garbage compactor and he is quite adorable, really.    Not being plugged into all the commercial cross-over marketing campaings for cartoon-movies, can anyone tell me if any fast food company is offering a toy Wall-E in a kid’s meal?

Also, I want to encourage those who get the DVD to be sure and watch the extra’s – a couple of the shorts are fun and the segment on Sound Design is fabulous!   Makes you realize that all sorts of geeky jobs are out there in this world…   It’s a joy to see a professional show so much passion for his life’s work (Ben Burtt).

I even ran it through for a second watch while listening to the Director overview.     I never realized how much time – how many  years – a project like this can take.

Well done, Mr Stanton; congrats to the entire production team.

I actually had a date last week to go to the cinema and watch something/ anything but when we got there, the start times did not match my expectations.   So we were either too late or too early!   (Half empty or half full?!)     Instead, we went to Borders and bought a few more books.   Sigh…

What movies did you see last week?    Have you seen Wall-E?

6 comments

  1. I haven’t seen Wall-E yet. I really didn’t get pulled in by the previews. But now, after hearing that you liked it, it may be one that I will go see. I can always drag the great niece with me. LOL.

    Right! What else are kids for if not to drag to kid’s movies?


  2. I watched Hancock, the new X Files movie and The newest Chronicles Of Narnia-Prince Caspian. I liked the Narnia movie the best then X files and lastly Hancock which I am glad I didn’t pay money to see. I have never liked animation even as a kid.

    Looking forward to some better movies, I hope.

    Hmmm, not understanding your dislike for animation, but Wall-E was different – almost no dialog. I’m sad to hear the Hancock movie was lousy, though. OH well!


  3. I’m going to put Wall-E and The Visitor on my Netflix queue. Unfortunately I’m so cheap that it will be February before I get them, but thanks for the recommendations.

    And Happy New Year!

    Happy New Year to you, too!


  4. Haven’t seen Wall-E yet. It was one of those things where Daddy wanted to take the kids to the movies and Mommy “had” to stay home and suffer through the peace and quiet. (Poor me! tee hee!) I’ll definitely add it to my list now.


  5. that is a great movie. My kid just love it

    http://iveysstory.wordpress.com/2009/01/09/friday-photo-8/#comments


  6. I liked Wall-E,it’s cute. My kids loved it though. I can’t sit still long enough to watch a full movie on the couch anymore and can barely make it through on in the theater without something (My hip) hurting or falling asleep.



Leave a Reply

