h1

Movie List Dec 29,08

December 29, 2008

I saw a few movies this week!  yippee!   I have been reading and TV watching and not much blogging (obviously)…

I saw The Visitor that has a few people saying ‘Best Actor, Male Lead’ for Richard Jenkins – one of those guys that people know they recognize but often can’t come up with his name too quickly.     richjenkins

It’s GOOD!   and it’s sad.   It’s a slow paced movie, but it draws you in on the sad life that is Walter’s (Richard Jenkins) and by the end, oh!  You are rooting for him!  and his friends!    (hold hand to heart and sigh)

It’s also a very interesting look at US Immigration policy without being at all preachy – although you may have some opinions altered.   Maybe.   It’s all so complicated.

I also watched Tropic Thunder.   HILARIOUS.    I’m not a Ben Stiller fan but I do love Robert Downey Jr.     This was crazy.

also…

I watched      21 starring Jim Sturgess and Kevin Spacey.   It was better than I thought it would be.    (I don’t think it’s being talked about for any big awards but they did score a Special Award for Best Ensemble by the ShoWest Convention. )    I REALLY want to read the book this was based on:  “Bringing Down the House: The Inside Story of Six M.I.T. Students Who Took Vegas for Millions” by Ben Mezrich.     {as I researched only a tiny bit to look up the book – I’m reading that it’s not that great of a read and only loosely true? oh well.}

5 comments

  1. Oooh – I want to see Tropic Thunder for a silly movie and now you have piqued my interest with The Visitor. I noticed you have been scarce around the blogosphere and was thinking of you! 🙂

    I know, I’m scarce – I’m really REALLY into the books right now…


  2. Sounds worth a watch – I just love a good movie at this time of year … snuggled up with the kitties by the fire … finishing off the Christmas chocs ready for the New Year diet. Bliss.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR to you and yours. I hope you have good health and wealth and happiness.

    Happy New Year J9!


  3. I saw The Visitor! It was amazing! It does get one to look at policy and why certain ones are in effect, and the meaning of it all. The acting was superb.
    Happy New Year, oh curious one!!! 😀

    Happy New Year to you! I’m excited that someone else has seen the Visitor!


  4. Oh I LOVED Tropic Thunder, even Tom Cruise was funny in it, since he wasn’t being himself….hahaha 😉 …oh and if you want to see something really great, go see Slumdog Millionaire, it’s won all these awards and it’s very interesting! Happy New Year 🙂

    Oh, it’s most definitely on THE LIST TO SEE. I just don’t get to many in-theater movies, darn it.

    Love your avatar – very nice…


  5. Ooh, I’m so going to go out and buy myself Tropic Thunder even though I haven’t even seen it yet. I’ve heard it’s worth it just for Robert Downey Jr. (who is totally back on the crush list since Iron Man, oui?)

    OUI! I am enamored with RDJ, oh yes. I can’t wait to see The Soloist.



Leave a Reply

