h1

Award List Mondays

December 15, 2008

I would like to feature the lastest and update-iest news on 2008 movies!   This is mostly for me – I love lists, I love the movies, I want to see them ALL and, of course, I never quite do it.

I will post this on Monday’s – giving Awards Daily the credit:  I get emails from that site and it’s my favorite movie stuff blog – very professional and all the fun.    EVERYTHING is there;  I will only do a snippet here.  and I’ll include my thoughts…

If you have a favorite website for movie reviews, please share!

The AFI Top Ten Films of the Year   (AFI – Am Film Institute)

THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON
THE DARK KNIGHT
FROST/NIXON
FROZEN RIVER
GRAN TORINO
IRON MAN
MILK
WALL*E
WENDY AND LUCY
THE WRESTLER

Boston Film Critics

Best Picture: WALL•E and Slumdog Millionaire (tie)
Best Actor: Sean Penn for Milk and Mickey Rourke for The Wrestler (tie)
Best Actress: Sally Hawkins for Happy-Go-Lucky
Best Supporting Actor: Heath Ledger for The Dark Knight
Best Supporting Actress: Penélope Cruz for Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Best Director: Gus Van Sant for Milk and Paranoid Park
Best Screenplay: Dustin Lance Black for Milk
Best Cinematography: Christopher Doyle and Rain Kathy Li for Paranoid Park
Best Documentary: Man on Wire
Best Foreign-Language Film: Let the Right One In
Best Animated Film: WALL•E
Best Film Editing: Chris Dickens for Slumdog Millionaire
Best New Filmmaker: Martin McDonagh for In Bruges
Best Ensemble Cast: Tropic Thunder

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I’ve only seen The Dark Knight and Iron Man from the AFI list but can’t wait to see Milk and Frost/Nixon. I don’t know much about Gran Torino and Frozen River and this is the first I’ve heard of* Wendy and Lucy. I’ve read half of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, but, of course, I know it stars Brad Pitt.

Iron Man had some serious logic holes to me but it was entertaining.  I would not list it in my top ten.   And I probably haven’t even seen 10 worthy of considering.  YET! . . .

* ok – I know, I know.  I know very little about anything this year!   Let me state again, this is my way to get myself caught up and be prepared for the Oscars (Feb 22nd).   We have less than 3 months people!!

From the Boston list, I’ve seen In Bruges (and LOVED it because of the setting!  one of my favorite towns in the world…)   I have a LOT to get excited about and have been barely paying attention, until now.

Slumdog Millionaire looks wonderful.

And for my most recent Holiday movie to recommend:   Fred Claus.   It was way better than I expected and WOW!  What a cast!    Every time I new character came on screen, my hub and I would say something like, “Hey – is that Kathy Bates?”  or  “That can’t be Rachel Weisz! – it IS!” “Holy Cow!  Kevin Spacey is in this?”, etc.

and I cried.  Aaaah, sniff, sniff.  I believe, Santa! I believe! (Can I still get that Lite-Brite toy I asked for in 1972?)

6 comments

  1. Yikes, I’ve only seen Dark Knight and like you want to see the Nixon/Frost movie – but havent’ really heard of the others. Well, Milk but I lived in California when the real thing went down so I doubt I’d enjoy a highly fictionalized version of the story so I’ll pass.
    Annie

    Ah, yes, fact vs fiction. I hadn’t thought about that since it’s a totally new story to me. Still, even if you don’t know much, the idea that another councilmember shot another in the city hall building is just ripe for movie fodder!


  2. I thought Dark Knight was just okay. I love everyone in the film, but I thought Batman Begins was better.

    I loved “In Bruges”! I think Colin Farrell doesn’t get enough credit for being a great actor with a lot of range. I didn’t really start paying attention to him until “Phonebooth” (which really blew me away)but now that he’s on my radar I watch anything he’s in and love him. Yes, I love Colin Farrell.

    “Benjamin Button” looks fascinating. I really want to see it.

    I like Colin Farrell, too. Phonebooth was a terrific movie. I can’t say which Batman (Bale) is best, yet. I’ve seen Begins too many times – I need to see the latest a few more times. Both were sOOOOoooo long.


  3. I just saw “Dark Knight” last night and I thought it was pretty good. “Iron Man” was really fun. It helps that I watch these flicks with a 12 year old boy whose enthusiasm for the special effects is infectious! I’ve seen “Tropic Thunder” and I think it would have been funnier if I’d had a beer or two! 🙂 Pretty good as far as spoofs go.

    I can’t wait to see “Benjamin Button.”

    I know, I want to see movies this time of year! I just tried to Netflix Wall-E but they must not have enough. The Visitor was sent to me instead. And I will take your advice to have a beer or two (or three?) for Tropic Thunder.


  4. Thanks for the list! I’ve only seen three, and there’s a couple I probably wouldn’t see, but you’ve given me some choices I hadn’t heard of or had forgotten. Very nice holiday gift!

    You’re welcome!


  5. […] thebeadden (2) Poch (3) Curious C (4) […]


  6. […] last week’s post, I’ve only seen two movies and one was from a long time ago:   Uncle Buck.   Because.   […]



Leave a Reply

