h1

Sour Cream Pear Raisin Pie

October 28, 2008

If you are not a big fan of raisins, may I suggest GOLDEN raisins?   I prefer the golden raisins, myself.   If you seriously do not like raisins, just skip this recipe.   It amazed me how much flavor the raisins give this pie.    I am not a big fan of sour cream pies – because of the raisins! – but I was hoping the pears would give it a new texture and flavor balance.  It did, this is wonderful.   Not my favorite pear pie of all time, but I’ll make it again.

I found this at  Recipe Goldmine (dot com) and printed it in 2004.   I did not attempt this recipe until last week.   (oh yes! My pie book is packed with pie recipes I’ve yet to try. Which inspires me to consider a ‘Resurrected Recipe’ feature to this blog. Whadda ya think?)

5 Fresh Pears – Anjou*  – diced, skins on or off
1/2 cup raisins
1 Tbsp lemon juice
3/4 cup packed lt brown sugar
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup sour cream
1 unbaked pie shell

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.   

Reserve half a pear for the garnish on top.  Core and dice remaining pears (I didn’t peel the pears.)  Combine pears and raisins, sprinkle with lemon juice.  Blend brown sugar, eggs and sour cream.  Combine pear mixture and turn into unbaked pastry shell.   Garnish with reserved pear slices.  Brush pear slices with melted butter.  Bake 1 hour or until knife inserted near center comes out clean.

*  I pick the biggest pears I can find and they need to be not-quite ripe, thus firm and crisp.    The japanese pears are often great choices for pear pie, too.   Again, I used golden raisins and would even try using 1/3 cup of them next time.   or NONE AT ALL.

The quantity was too much for one pie!  Luckily, I had more pie pastry and a smaller pie pan to use.    I was also amazed how golden yellow these turned out.   Top with LOTS of whip cream!

 

Just a couple of other Pie Posts at Idea Jump! 

Papaya Pie (no recipes here, just pics)

Wierd Pie  (I explain my pie obsession and give a recipe)

9 comments

  1. It certainly looks good but I suppose pies are not on my list of things to eat right now. My favorite is still apple pie and chocolate cream pie. Oh and peanut butter and chocolate pie. Oh, and blueberry pie and…. I guess I really like pie.

    OH! your avatar is YOU! love it. love pie. all good.


  2. Those look divine! Like Joan, I do love pie, and also tarts (the food kind of tarts, not the loose women kind). But I had never heard of this kind of pie or one with sour cream in it. It doesn’t look too hard though so I may have to give this one a shot. And golden raisins are actually softer and easier to eat than the other kind. I like both but I can see why someone would prefer one over the other. 🙂

    Almost all the sour cream pies I’ve seen have raisins – I’m sure most are from the WWII rationing days, but I could be wrong. I am wondering and it would prob be just fine to leave out the raisins. I just found a raisin-pineapple pie recipe in my file (I’ve been organizing) but that sounds just awful, don’t you think? I’m seen sour cream and apple, too. I’m needing something new and surprising.


  3. They look yummy. I make terrible pastry myself so rarely make pies.

    oh heck, I no longer bother with pie crust anymore. I buy the rollout kind – very good, very easy.


  4. Doesn’t matter how you market them, raisins are raisins. It’s a texture thing. Biting into one, and having it explode in your mouth totally gives me the heebie-geebies. But the pies look good! Just leave out the raisins. *smile*

    I get ya, I understand. scratch the raisins for the Panther and the Romi… ok, got it.


  5. Seems delicious. I like the arrangement of pear slices.

    I sometimes like to be present a pretty pie, not just a tasty pie. (I was following directions!)


  6. hahaha…I wanted to get on board with the recipe, but once you mentioned how crucial the raisins were, it was over…oh well, maybe next time! 😉

    I’ll have to try this w/o raisins. SO CAN YOU? Thanks for stopping by and I’ll tell you about the next pie… it won’t have raisins, promise!


  7. Happy Halloween! 😀

    BOO!


  8. Yum, I love pears.

    I do, too! Pears are so under-appreciated.


  9. […] Sour Cream Pear Raisin Pie […]



Leave a Reply

