h1

Rocks That Look Like Dogs?

October 13, 2008

I’m in a mood.   In a mood to show you some photos.    I had more titles to this post (before I typed any words) but look what I ended up with?   Should I start with the photo that inspired this title?    OK.

I like to dig up the rocks that are buried in our lands (I only have 3/4 of an acre, of which 1/3 is woods) but these are two that I dug up from the space just into the woods from the back yard.   You’ll see what I’m talking about when I show you the damn picture.    And then, I was inspired to attempt a stacking of the rocks like any good cairn appreciator might do and this is what happened.  When I look at this structure, I first thought of a cartoon dinosaur but when I google-imaged for such, the one in my imagination didn’t come up and then I thought maybe it was a dog.  or a duck.   Please tell me in your comment.

You MUST have the ability to imagine!    If you aren’t the kind of person who can lay in the grass and look for animals in the clouds, you probably can’t do it by staring at rock piles, either.   (so sad for you.)

SO.

Let’s move on, shall we?

    This is the pile of dirt from posts prior now covered in mulch (the dirt, not the blogpost…) and with a brand new arbor stuck in the middle.   On the southeast side of the caddywompus arbor, is an evergreen BRIGHTDEEPPURPLE wisteria!!!!   I’m hoping, praying that this will have enough sun to give me tons of blossoms.   And on the other side is eoponymus.   (I’m spelling that from memory but the dude at Lowe’s told me it’s ‘the cat’s meow’.  Whatever that means.)   This shot also gives you a nice glimpse of the neighbor’s house that we want to pretend isn’t there (when we play naked in the hotTub.)   The same neighbor who I had the conflict with over that orange spoon.

And then, y  Yesterday, on my good friend J.L.’s birthday, I went fishing with the hub on a lake in a state park in Natick Mass.   The fall colors OOOOO la la!    And, the light!   The sunlight was bright but I loved how it flickered through the trees on this little boat and on the water…

    

Happy Birthday J.L.!

    

and, finally, allow me to show just another photo of my dog.   This time, the light was better.

Of course, he won’t look at me.    (His name is Oscar de la Hunta.)

8 comments

  1. Photo #1: It’s Snoopy!

    Photo #2: You know what a geek I am when it comes to looking stuff up. I think your plant is called “euonymus,” and if you do a Google image search for it, you’ll see all kinds of gorgeous plants. Oh, and your orange spoon neighbor needs to move.

    Photos #3 and #4: Beautiful, C. I am soooo jealous that you got to go catch fishies! And happy birthday to your friend!

    Photo #5: I love this one. Oscar is so cute. He reminds me of old 1960’s cartoons, where dogs would sometimes be portrayed as hippies. Yes, I know this doesn’t make sense to anyone but me.

    Thanks for a great post!


  2. @Moonbeam, Photo #1 still reminds me of a cartoon dinosaur-dog. THANK YOU for looking up euonymus. Didn’t mean for you to ‘get to work’ for my blog’s sake, but I do appreciate it (and feel a tad guilty for my laziness.) We like to call Oscar our lil beatnik dog…


  3. Totally Snoopy! With the little bird that used to sit on his head. Sorta.

    Nice photos 😀 I really like the light in the one with the leaves on the water.

    Caddywompus and eoponymus. Not sure what those are, but the “cat’s meow” is equivalent to the “bee’s knees”. Does that help? Sorry.

    oh, yes! The bee’s knees. It’s all good.


  4. These are such nice photos! Were you thinking of Dino, the Flintstones’ dog?

    I thought I was thinking of Dino but I couldn’t find the right cartoon on google-images. SO, you see it, too?


  5. i thought dino, too!

    oscar de la hunta. heheheheheheheheheh.


  6. Hmmm…I can’t decide between Snoopy and Dino. Most definitely a canine though. 🙂

    I liked all your photos..especially the water ones with reflections!

    I love wisteria too. It grows wild here, and I have a huge bush that appeared after a pine tree had to be cut down. Apparently it was a vine in the tree, but now we keep it trimmed as a bush. So it is about six feet across, and taller than my head. It is soooo gorgeous when it blooms.

    You know I love Oscar de la Hunta. He is so unique looking and am into that!!

    Thank you for sharing your world, C. I always enjoy it!

    Good and creative energies to you!


  7. Oh, yeah, Snoopy, particularly when sitting atop his doghouse. Your rock dog does look a little like Oscar, though—hope he’s not jealous. I dunno, some of my blogposts have felt like they had mulch all over them; I’d never say that about yours, though. 😉 Love the arbor; Birthday sounds fun, and Oh! so beautiful where you are. 🙂


  8. A small dinosaur balancing a ball on his head!

    Nice garden and arbour! But GORJUSS dog!



Leave a Reply

