h1

Change in Direction

October 11, 2008

I needed to lighten my mood so I googled some quotes on silliness:

Ludwig Wittgenstein
If people did not sometimes do silly things, nothing intelligent would ever get done.

Horace
Mix a little foolishness with your serious plans: it’s lovely to be silly at the right moment.


Ralph Waldo Emerson
Be Silly. Be honest. Be kind.
Dove Chocolate foil wrappers contain little inspirational messages.    Today’s says: 
Laugh often,
Smile much,
Love always.
and I dedicate this to my friend Joan.  
 
 
On a different topic entirely, I am taking part in a blogging challenge to read books that were source material for films and this morning, I watched All About Eve for the very first time!   What a FUN flick!!!    I had no idea Marilyn Monroe was in it;  Bette Davis did an awesome job; and Celeste Holm reminds me of another actress.  (and just typing this reminds me to go look her up and see if the actress I’m thinking of IS indeed her daughter…  excuse me.  I’ll be right back…)   OK, I’m back.    Nope, I was thinking of Virginia Madsen.   but they are no relation.  They have similar eyes…     
  
Anyway, something interesting I discovered on this little research trail…   Celeste Holm’s son coined the term ‘hypertext’.   He’s a big shot in the IT industry.      And the girl who was on the phone in the scene when Eve pretends to be sick so they can roust the playwrite to rescue her, that girl is Randy Stuart and she was from Iola Kansas.   Huh, whodda thunk!  I’ve been to Iola Kansas many a time.
  
As the Max Fabian character says in the movie:   “Let the rest of the world beat their brains out for a buck. It’s friends that count. And I got friends. ”   Have a great Columbus Day weekend, blog at ya next week. 
2 comments

  1. I’d like to see that movie. Actually, I’d like to go back and watch a lot of classics that I have never seen. 🙂

    hey – let’s have a movie night! OH OH OH!! guess what – never mind, I’ll stop by and find that post you wrote on that pizza place and tell ya that I thought of you… Promise, I will, soon. someday.


  2. Silliness and humor are the best medicine.

    Oh, yes! indeed!!



Leave a Reply

