h1

Makes Me Smile Two

October 1, 2008

I found the song!   This never fails to make me smile when I hear it.  

But wait!  There’s more…

When I was in high school, I attended a church youth conference and one of the special guests was a singer-songwriter who happened to have a hit song on the pop charts.  HOWEVER.   I can’t find nor recall exactly what song it is!    I’ll know it if I hear it, but that’s not helping me any right now.

At first I thought it was He Aint Heavy, He’s My Brother  – which is a terrific song – but Wiki isn’t identifying the songs composers as the guy I thought it might be.   So, now I’m stuck.

Aha!  and then THIS came to me!  

and then again, searching through the site for information on Bill Withers, I’m really doubting this was the guy.   But maybe it was?   (I could have sworn we were told that he was a kindergarten teacher in LA at the time of the conference.  Give me a break!  It was over 25 years ago!  Guess we’ll have to anxiously await the documentary they are making this year.)

and just ONE MORE song that makes me smile…  and to throw a little more linky-love to PeterParkour and to celebrate his career as a truck driver AND wish him all the best in the next  adventure.

One of the most amazing live concerts I have ever attended was the Grateful Dead.   In Philly, at that huge stadium, 1987 (I think.)     Before the music started, the huge crowd was just milling about, smoking dope rolled up in $100 bills (I was totally staring, WTF!) and ya know, just hangin’.   THEN.

once the music started, WOW!!!!!    everyone was happy!  smiling!   laughing!  singing!  swaying!

It was unlike anything I had ever seen.   Like a light switch was flipped and made 100,000 people HAPPY.

7 comments

  1. The song that causes me to break into a grin Every Single Time is Dire Straits Money for Nothing. For some reason, as soon as the intro starts, it doesn’t matter what mood I was in, I am happy happy happy!

    I saw Dire Straits in concert! This is a great song.


  2. Thanks again Curious C. 😉 Great songs.

    I used to work with a guy back in my prison guard days that was a huge Grateful Dead fan. One day on my way into work I heard on the radio that Jerry Garcia had died and my first thought was of my Grateful Dead worshiping coworker. When I got to work it turns out he didn’t come into work that day. He called in saying that his uncle “Jerry” had died. 😛 True story.

    Smoking $100 bills??? 😯 Times weren’t so lean then. 😐 Folks care barely afford to smoke $1 bills now days. :mrgreen:

    Actually, I believe they were snorting coke up thru the $100 bills and not really smoking them, but I’m pretty naive to the whole drug culture. I just thot it strange that Deadheads aren’t usually thought of as big consumers and showoffs so why not just use a $1 bill? WHO are you trying to impress? Whatever.


  3. Oh, that is a very happy song, C.! And a happy meme, too. It was great to hear it again.

    VERY happy song. a true feel good song.


  4. Great choices. I have been to hundreds of concerts in my life but I never got to see the Dead.. Both my kids did but I didn’t and that sucks.

    I was tagged for this but I am having a tough time picking out songs. Some of the stuff I love is very weird. I will do it soon.

    Teeni and I have been talking about meeting up soon. I will have my daughter drive me so we can meet in a more centrally located place. Sarah thought maybe apple picking and lunch. Got any ideas?

    ok – THIS is where I thought I dreamed that you sent me an e/m and I couldn’t find it!!!! Sure! sounds good. I’ll send an email to you.


  5. Great meme and great music.

    Yes! consider yourself tagged?


  6. Ooh, those are great songs C. I love the first one cuz it does make you feel so happy. Now I’m bopping. This is good…I don’t bop enough. 😉
    Annie

    Hey! bopping is always good. whichever bop you prefer, too!


  7. I was going to say pretty much anything by the Beastie Boys ’cause it makes me want to dance, but come to think of it, Queen makes me want to dance too!

    Is Beastie Boys the one with Marky Mark? Queen is awesome, I don’t know ANY Beastie songs…



Leave a Reply

