h1

Waiting…

August 28, 2008

A different kind of silence accompanies the gentle yet apprehensive* act of waiting.  The house seems to hum with a wistful expectation.   

Is waiting an act?  an activity.    A kinetic energy storing up for the possiblities of what will soon occur.   The phone will ring and I will jump.    Spring into action and flurry.     Arms and legs and heart will increase the movements of what these muscles, bones, tendons and ligaments are designed to do:   move.

Bloodcells and the highways they travel;  instantaneous movement yet based on a cause and effect.   A thought in the brain, sending chemical messages to communication centers, synapses.

I hate waiting.   

I hear the whirr of the computer.   A snap crack comes from the structure of the house.  Somewhere.   My chair squeaks, my fingers pluck at letters and my eyeballs trace the unfolding language on the screen.

My language aspires to impress;  words strung together and their meanings create a mood.   Where do these words come from?    Who am I asking?  and yet, how do I compose the very question about the act of what it is doing.   Am I even here?

My computer hums along oblivious.    I stop.   I stare.  

I wait.

But it’s OK.   For I am READY.

 

 

 

* quick to understand; “a kind and apprehensive friend”- Nathaniel Hawthorne

3 comments

  1. Well, I’m glad you’re ready. I have totally waited until the last minute to get ready. I have to quickly take a shower, sandwiches are made though. I have to have a quick small breakfast then I will wait.
    I will hear the lawn mower going. The wasband is home.

    You’ve got lots of time. It will be a leisurely late (fashionable) lunch for us. Relax, take a breath, write a post. We’ll be calling you btw 12:30 and 1 ish, I think.


  2. Wow. Waiting will never be the same after reading this post!

    wow? really? how is waiting for you? can I think of anymore questions? will you come back and answer? have I been waiting too long with nothing left to do!??! aaauughghhh!


  3. Were you blogging while you were waiting? 😉 I had such a blast today! Thanks for driving, the drinks, the chair, the notecards – you are so sweet! I have so much blogging to catch up on now! LOL

    well YEA! I was blogging while waiting for you! most fun times. good times. 🙂



Leave a Reply

