h1

My Zuc Bread

August 6, 2008

This is my favorite zucchini (courgette) bread recipe.   What’s yours?

3 eggs
1 cup oil
2 cups sugar
2 cups shredded zuc
2 tsp vanilla
3 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup nuts optional

Mix it all up, pour into greased&floured loaf pans.  Bake 1 hour at 325 degrees.

It’s the family recipe…   I could probably cut a lot of the oil and sugar and also salt, maybe use applesauce but who cares!   It’s using a green veggie so it’s GOOD for you.

5 comments

  1. you’ll laugh, but i found my all-time fave recipe online:

    http://www.farmfreshtoyou.com/recipes/squashbread-0012.shtml

    sounds weird. tastes awesome.

    Squash Bread
    1 package (1/4 oz.) active dry yeast 2 tablespoons warm water
    1 cup mashed cooked butternut squash 1/3 cup warm milk
    1/4 cup butter, softened 1 egg
    3 tablespoons brown sugar 1/4 teaspoon salt
    3 to 3-1/2 cups all purpose flour
    GLAZE:
    1 egg, beaten 1 tablespoon water

    In a bowl, dissolve yeast in water. Combine squash, milk, butter, egg, brown sugar & salt in another bowl; mix well. Add yeast mixture & 1-1/2 cups flour; mix well. Add enough flour to form a soft dough. Turn onto a floured surface; knead until smooth & elastic. Place in a greased bowl, turning once to grease top. Cover & let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour. Punch dough down. Divide into thirds; roll each third into an 18-inch rope. Place on a greased baking sheet. Braid ropes together; pinch ends. Cover and let rise until nearly doubled, about 30 minutes. Combine glaze ingredients; brush over braid. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from pan & coll on wire rack.

    Heck NO, I’m not laughing. This sounds a bit more complicated than mine but very interesting, too. I just might have to attempt it! Thanks for playing along and sharing this. I spent one summer collecting strange zuc recipes – it was fun to see the variety.


  2. Mmmmm, sounds delicious. I’ve never even heard of Zuc bread before – let alone have a recipe! Maybe it’s an American thing?

    Could be! You should buy some courgettes and try it! I’d love to see you start some kind of international trend?


  3. This one I’ll have to pass on though I’ll bet it is delicious. But I have a feeling it’s not weight watcher approved.

    Don’t you have some kind of substitution chart to make things WW-approved? use applesauce for the oil and maybe Splenda? yea, maybe not…


  4. Hmm. From what I’ve learned from baking, I’ve heard you can easily substitute applesauce or fat free yogurt for up to half of the fat in a recipe without really altering the taste or consistency much. I love zucchini bread. I’ve never made it – for some reason I only make banana nut bread or tropical banana bread when I make quick breads. LOL. I guess I could use a change of routine so I may try this. I’ve always loved it when someone else has made it. But I may do the lower fat version just so I don’t feel too much guilt. I think I’d go with the yogurt in this one.

    Teeni, I cannot get over how wonderfully HELPFUL you are all the time – so thoughtful and NICE. You most definitely deserve the Nicest Blogger award (which I’m sure someone somewhere has bestowed on you already.)

    I can’t stand mushed bananas – I think it’s a texture thing. so for me, zuc bread-making is much more easy on my sensibilities! What can I say – we all have our weirdnesses, right?


  5. I just got a lot more zucchini from my dad’s garden today! I’m going to make this, but I’m going to use butter instead of oil.



Leave a Reply

