h1

Insight Into My Heart Meme

August 4, 2008

I first titled this Music that Makes You Cry Meme, but then I read Joan’s post and it was so spot ON and lovingly right…    She got it from Wendy who was tagged by Little Miss and together they conversed it into a meme with this appropriate title.   I had actually written this before reading Little Miss’s post so I felt I need to give proper credit and respect to the orginator.   ALSO, Little Miss is DOING Project RUNWAY reviews! SO a happy Shout Out to her!!)


Now, I realize that only a few of my regular readers are die hard country music fans but I don’t apologize for my love of this music.  You’ll just have to put up with me!    I was so touched by the great songs of the bloggers mentioned above;  I have a few that instantly come to mind.     And surprisingly, or not, two of my favorite heartstring pullers are hits by Kathy Mattea.      The first I’ll only tell you about and I hope to include in another post, another time.   (I don’t want to take too much of your time today.)   It’s title is Walking Away A Winner and it deserves a bit more explanation which I intend to tie in with “why I blog.”  later.

I dedicate this next one to Peter Parkour  (he’s a truck driver.)   So, Mr. Parkour, I don’t know if you care for this song or not or if it relates to your life but, I thought of you right after I thought of the song…      

Eighteen Wheels And A Dozen Roses

Charlie’s got a gold watch
Don’t seem like a whole lot
After thirty years of drivin’
Up and down the interstate
But Charlie’s had a good life
And Charlie’s got a good wife
And after tonight she’ll no longer be countin’ the days

CHORUS
Eighteen wheels and a dozen roses
Ten more miles on his four day run
A few more songs on the all night radio
And he’ll spend the rest if his life with the one that he loves

They’ll buy a Winnebago
Set out to find America
Do a lotta catchin’ up
A little at a time

With pieces of the old dream
They’re gonna light the old flame
Doin’ what they please
Leavin every other reason behind

 

I don’t know about insight into my heart, but I do cry everytime I hear this.  When I try to sing along, I don’t know if it’s the key or the lyrics or what exactly but I get all choked up.    The story is so touching.  

What do YOU think?   what insights into my heart are you struck by?     

I tag anyone who wants to play…

7 comments

  1. As a matter of fact I do like that song. 🙂 Thank you so very much for the dedication, the honorable mention, and for the sneak peak into your heart. 😉 Far too kind, far too sweet.

    I’ve been giving some thought to doing this musical meme. You’ve got me thinking about it again. Thanks again. 🙂

    Welcome! I hope you do post on this meme. I’m so glad you like the song.


  2. Arrrgh. I went to watch the video but it says it is no longer available. I will come back and try again later. I am dying to hear the song that made you think of Peter Parkour. 🙂 The lyrics are great.


  3. The video is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opWuvaT8NgU


  4. Well I can see why you thought of Peter. The whole time I was watching it I thought of Peter and Bunny traveling the open road. I’m glad Peter has his Bunny with him when he drives. It was a good song and I also enjoyed the video.

    COOL! Thank you. Kathy Mattea is great, isn’t she?


  5. Awww, that is so sweet. I think I may actually have h heard that one once before. I never would have found it again though if you hadn’t posted about it. Good one, C. And I can totally see why it would get to you and dedicate it to Mr. Parkour. He’s such a great blog buddy. I hope he and Bunny’s travels are always days of roses. 🙂

    I’m so glad you came back to check out the vid. WHY oh WHY does the ‘not available’ keep happening to me? oh well. I had to listen AGAIN to this song and AGAIN, I got teary… I know by comments that Mr. Parkour has a very very big heart – I too wish him sweet and loving travels…


  6. I am a very out of the closet country music fan, no need to apologize for a love a meaningful lyrics and sweet melodies.

    Yea Sara! I like a lot of different music… I used to study in college to country music – something about being able to sing along while working math problems seemed to work for me…


  7. YouTube went AWOL . . .
    Damn.
    ~m



Leave a Reply

