h1

Movie Meme

June 24, 2008

Swiped from Joan Harvest!    These are all movies I’ve seen quite recently.   Last Sunday was an unplanned movie marathon.

1.  One movie that made you laugh:

Thank You For Smoking Thank You for Smoking starring Aaron Eckhart – it was much better than I thought it would be!   Plus, it features Maria Bello – one of my fave actresses.   (Payback, anyone?!)

2.  One movie that made you cry:

Pride and Prejudice Pride & Prejudice with Keira Knightley.   I didn’t think I was a Jane Austen softie, but maybe I am…   However, I wasn’t all that impressed with the actor who played Mr. Darcy.   

For an obscure but wonderful movie that ALWAYS makes me cry and you’ve probably NEVER heard of is The Nephew.   It’s set in Ireland – lovely scenery, great story, I cry every time and recommend this to everyone.

3.  One movie you loved when you were a child:
Escape from Witch Mountain?  All those Kurt Russell movies when he was really young?    I remember the very first ‘adult’ movie I saw was Smokey and the Bandit.    Then I saw Rocky – what a thrilling experience THAT was to see in the theatre!

4.  One movie you’ve seen more than once:

Gladiator comes to mind as one that I’ve seen more times than I care to count.   But using the guide of recently viewed movies, I would have to say Legally Blonde. Legally Blonde  Reese Witherspoon reminds me of a good friend from college who I am no longer in contact with which makes me a bit sad…  But then, some friendships are for seasons, some for lifetimes.   She was just a season that ended in cold hard winter.   Oh well.

5.  One movie you loved, but were embarrassed to admit it:

I can’t think of any!   (Pride and Prejudice?   Legally Blonde?)

6.  One movie you hated:

Something About Mary.   There's Something About Mary  I can’t help it:   I cannot stand Ben Stiller.   Something about that innocent clumsy idiot persona that grates on me.   But, I’m not one of those people who won’t go see a movie just because I don’t like the actor(s).   My favorite Ben Stiller movie is Dodgeball because I do have a hot love for Vince Vaughn.   Go figure.    

7.  One movie that scared you:

I do not watch “scary” movies.   Unless they are more cerebral than slasher/gore/horror.    OK, here’s the scariest movie I saw lately:   In the Valley of Elah  In the Valley of Elah.   War sucks.     and to reinforce, that drugs suck, too. go see:   Requiem for a Dream Requiem for a Dream

8.  One movie that bored you:

Frantic with Harrison Ford.   ZZzzzzzzzzzzzz

9.  One movie that made you happy:

Stardust!  Stardust   so cute!!  Almost as good as the Princess Bride.  (Hub says no way – Princess Bride MUCH better.)

10.  One movie that made you miserable:    See answers to #7.

11.  One movie you weren’t brave enough to see:
I still haven’t seen any of the 9/11 movies;  I even OWN them and I have yet to watch them.

12.  One movie character you’ve fallen in love with:

Sir Walter Raleigh in Elizabeth:  The Golden Age or Tristan in Stardust or Emmit (Luke Wilson) in Legally Blonde…   Or the John Cusack character in Must Love Dogs,  I could go on and on.

13.  The last movie you saw:  Stardust!   Last night.    It was storming and we have DirecTV so the feed was breaking up – only thing to do is put in a movie…    Must Love Dogs was on TV right before that so it was breaking up and we only saw pieces/parts.

14.  The next movie I hope to see:   

Iron Man!  at the cinema even!   Iron Man  Hopefully, this week (tomorrow?)

8 comments

  1. I don’t think I have ever seen Stardust. I have put that on my list. I have seen both Gladiator and Legally Blond dozens of times. I love Gladiator. I loved Iron Man. I remember “Escape to Witch Mountain.”

    THERE YOU ARE! I think you will like Stardust, it was sweet.


  2. Vince Vaughn and John Favreau in particular seem to make a good team

    Yes, they do. Thanks for stopping by. Your review of The Other Boleyn Girl was quite fascinating.


  3. Cute meme! I would get a little carried away if I tried to answer all of those. I know my answer to #4…. I have definitely watched “You’ve Got Mail” wayyyy too many times. Ugh, I LOVE that movie. Love love love. And I can’t quite figure out why. 🙂

    You should play! I have seen You’ve Got Mail a ton of times, too. I love the movies…


  4. I am a Vince Vaughn slut. I will see anything, ANYTHING that has him in it.

    OK then. I can’t say that I’ve seen them all, but I loved the Wedding Crashers…


  5. Oh, I loved Escape from Witch Mountain too! I did not think Something About Mary was all it was cracked up to be. And I think Vince Vaughan and Kurt Russell are cute too. I have been wanting to see Stardust – I may have to make my sister watch with me in case TGH won’t watch it.

    Yep, we must be sisters! oh, you already have a sister. oh well. What does TGH stand for again? The Great Husband? I’ll run over and read more of your posts to find out. 🙂


  6. I see you’re having the same trouble with displaying pics as I am – they appear when they feel like it and not when they don’t feel like it!!! Frustrating huh?

    I usually end up deleting them and then re-loading them – but sometimes I jusy can’t be arsed! So I do what you’ve one (leave the title and the little cross) to show my good intentions!!! LOL!

    I have all sorts of minor screwy things happening on my PC. I cut/pasted this pics vs saving and uploading so I prob broke the connection in translation. so, I’ll just leave it for now.


  7. I love DIANE LANE in “MUST LOVE DOGS” !

    Hi Bobby, do you have a blog? Diane Lane is a great actress. She was adorable in this movie.


  8. that very intersting!

    I’m glad you liked it.



Leave a Reply

