h1

I Got A Job

June 18, 2008

Guess what I’m doing today!   I’m WORKING!   at a job!! 

Actually, that is only about a fourth of the true story since tomorrow, I WON’T be working anymore.   I’m covering the real estate office – for just today – that I used to work with.    The receptionist/office manager/great-all-around-awesome-friend is out on a field trip with one of the kidlets and needed some one to fill in for her.  (Cuz of course NONE of the agents can afford to demean themselves to – gasp! – answer any phonecalls not directly FOR them.   geez.  Even when they happen to be in the office.  It’s most astounding how UNTEAM PLAYERs real estate agents can be…)

So.  Here I am!   Hoping the phone doesn’t ring and I can play on the computer and make a few copies and generally just have a day away from home.   I brought a ton of stuff to do:  write letters, read magazines, blog (of course), etc.

However, bummer of bummers, the ‘boss’ just came in and tells me that the office is having a meeting today.   that BLOWs.  oh well.

That’s the scoop on my Wednesday.    What’s exciting, new and different or not with YOU?    Wait, nevermind, I’ll just go read YOUR blogs and find out.   Such fun…

11 comments

  1. LOL – So your first and last day on the job and already you will be stuck dealing with meetings? Meetings are so counterproductive. LOL. Anyway, it is nice to get out of the house a bit and socialize with coworkers sometimes. I hope after this day of work that you won’t be burned out for the rest of the week now. 😉 Okay, I’ll stop teasing you now. Hope you have a fun day!


  2. I’m happy if you’re happy, but I can’t even think about working outside the house any more. I’ve ruined myself, I’d be a terrible employee. I would love to socialize with my co-workers, but I wouldn’t want to be “watched” while I’m supposed to be working. 🙂


  3. wooh hooo working girl! i am just squeezing in a little reading between my meetings and running to the bank and what not goes on in between!


  4. @Teeni – thank gee I didn’t have to be at the meeting. (I did have to clean up after it tho! WTH?! not a big deal.) They finally left to go run around and tour some of the listings. So, now I’m back to blogging a bit and am trying to figure out what nice things to say to Wendy and her touch of homesickness… oh, and I meant to let you know that I would think it a treat to meet you for lunch sometime – but prob not sooner than August!?

    @Wendy, If I didn’t think you were an all out weirdo, I’d offer to let you stay at my house. NOT REALLY! I mean, yes, you’re not too strange maybe – I’ll have to check the schedule and conduct a CORI, but why not?! Plus, I would LOVE to see the expression on Hub’s face if I say one of my blogging friends is coming to spend the night. O.M.G.

    @Fritz, Yep, that’s me, a working girl. For another hour and a half or $15.


  5. Well thank you very much, you really are a sweetheart, but I’ll probably pass even though it would be hilarious to hear what your hubby would have to say about it. The problem is that when I’m visiting home I don’t even know what to do with myself, know what I mean? It’s like everyone you know is at work, or having a life, and you’re kind of haunting everybody, banging around with no purpose. But thank you anyway, you’re too funny! 🙂


  6. Enjoy your day at “work” CuriousC! This post was funny!


  7. I hope those people that put together the employment statistics are taking your job into account. It might help the economy come out this “downturn”. 😀

    My Wednesday was rather productive. Two summer coworkers and I cleared out a room jammed with lots of techno-junk which needs to get recycled. What to keep and what to recycle is always a tough call for me. But we did it!


  8. @Wendy – well, it’s an open invit if you change your mind. Maybe a good thing, since all I have is time on my hands and I could see you as a corrupting influence. Sheeesh, you’d have me saying basturds like basdids and then we’d be breaking into haunted Taunton former hospitals or at least cultivating gardens somewhere.

    @FW, I’m glad I made you laugh. I even got a raise and made $6 more than I expected. It was a fine day. (gas to my bank will eat up that $6… I need to get a closer bank!)

    @David, and I promise you that that $6 is already been churned back into the economy – I bought a Dunkin Donuts cinnamon coffee with cream for me and an extraLarge extraLight 3 sugars for my neighbor on the way home. those 2 coffees cost me almost $5 – ugh?!?! Good for you for cleaning out a closet. Did you have a come-hither look photo taken as you conducted this ‘green’ activity?


  9. I hope you enjoyed your day at work. I’m still recovering from working and I retired 1 1/2 years ago. I guess I recover slowly. I still have no desire to work.

    Work is a funny word describing… what exactly? I mean, you DO work – you prepare your families meals and do it with love, I just know. AND, the comments you give all of us nutty bloggers adds immense immeasurable value to our days. That’s what I think. but, yea, work is a 4 letter word. Hmmm so is ‘blog’!


  10. Hello there!
    I realize this is a little late, but I hope you had fun on your work day. 🙂
    Also, wanted to say “thanks!” for the book recommendation. I grabbed it at the library yesterday and I really like it so far!! I’m only about 5 chapters in, but so far so good.
    *hc

    GOOD – I so hope you like it! Creepy, isn’t it!? GO to my other blog and tell me what you think… I’ve reviewed it there.


  11. Did you know that I worked in real estate for 10 years (for large corporate companies as a senior manager) ANd my novel is all about life as an estate agent? Small world huh?

    Hope you enjoyed your day!

    PS: Love the photo header on your blog!

    Jan, I’ve moved closer to gettint that novel of yours! It’s in my WANT list at amazon – I promise to purchase SOON! I didn’t know that it was abt real estate…



Leave a Reply

