h1

New Tutee

June 11, 2008

I have a new TUTEE.  I’m quite excited which you would usually be more aware of but I’m trying to refrain from over-exclamation-pointing.

My first tutor-EE (which to me sounds better than tutee), failed to show up to our sessions.   (I’m not sure what has happened to her.)   I was helping her with the math portion of the GED.   I was also to help my second tutor-EE with math, but her doctor put her on bedrest.   She’s expecting her first child in August.   

So, I have a NEW gal to help and she doesn’t need any assistance with mathematics.  No, this wonderful lady wants to improve her English.   She’s from Brazil.

I am having a tough time pronouncing Portuguese words so we are having lots of fun teaching each other how to say things properly.     When she told me she now works at Wendys, it took me a loooong time to figure out she was saying ‘Wendy’s.’  

I first met her on Monday and I’m meeting her again this afternoon.     She wants to get together at least twice a week.     

THIS IS A WHOLE LOT MORE INTIMIDATING for me than the math help.     Which is exactly why it is more FUN!!    (diversao?   I’m going on memory.   I only know I really couldn’t get my mouth around this word at all.)

Just thought I’d share.    Back to your regular programming. 

4 comments

  1. This is something that I’ve come to really, really enjoy. I “tutor” writing at the college still (really, help folks with their papers) but it’s always interesting.

    I’d be intimidated as hell trying to tutor math, even high school level math.


  2. WOW! Mentoring a person or people is awesome. I think you as tutor get as much out of it as they do!! What fun!!


  3. How fabulous are you to give your time like this! The world is a better place because you are in it. Kudos to you!


  4. Yay! That’s great, CuriousC. I have some in-laws from Brazil and I love listening to them speak Portuguese. It is such a beautiful language.



Leave a Reply

