h1

The Curious Cairn

May 14, 2008

David, over at Thoughts-0-Dave, frequently blogs about a cairn that marks his cycling route.    I suggested we ‘meme’ this…  and seeing how it was sort of my idea, I decided I best jump right to it.

According to Wikipedia, a cairn is an artificial pile of stones and many cultures over many centuries have interesting piles of stone erected for many reasons.  I didn’t have a reason for mine other than it sounded like a fun thing to do.   With eleven (some admittedly flat) rocks stacked upon a base of a chopped-down pine tree, I present to you
The Curious Cairn:

 

A rock pile ceases to be a rock pile the moment a single man contemplates it, bearing within him the image of a cathedral.
Antoine de Saint-Exupery


“To come to the party at all you have to have the agreement of these guys.” (quote by some guy named Paul Cairns)

Which inspires me to include this quote, as well:

I think the rock’n’roll myth of living on the edge is a pile of crap. – Robert Smith

13 comments

  1. That is a beautiful cairn C!!

    I ♥ ♥ it so much!

    Thanks for jumping right into it. It looks so cool the way you put it on the tree stump. You sure do have a lot of stones there! I have to dig mine up out of the garden. But I have started a little cairn in the garden though, but it’s still pretty short.

    Yippee! I ♥ that you ♥ it! Should I have tagged people???


  2. I’ve just learned something new! I love it when that happens 😉 Turned out great, good job girl!

    It’s ALWAYS a good day when we LEARN something – no matter what. My Hub laughed at me when he asked me if I was the one who made the ‘rock heap’ – now, does it look like a HEAP to you?! I think not. He thought the kids had done it…


  3. I’m loving it! It goes quite well with your rock garden and your greenery. Very appealing. Thanks for sharing! Thanks for adding a new word to my vocab too – again.

    Peace, Light and Love,
    CordieB.


  4. I’m sure glad you had a pic for when you wrote “cairn”, I immediately thought of “terrier”! Silly me!!!


  5. I love your cairn. I’m going to do it too but I can’t find any rocks in the yard so I’m am going to have to go on a rock hunting trip. Since I can’t buy any statues for my new Oasis I will build a cairn and it’s free. I’m so glad you did this or I would have forgotten. I love the quotes too. Good Job!!!


  6. I also really like the Antoine de Saint-Exupery quote. One of my most favorite quotes EVER is from him:


    “And now here is my secret, a very simple secret; it is only with the heart that one can see rightly, what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

    YES – that is a great quote. I find AdSE to be a beautiful writer. Have you read his memoir?


  7. Oh is that what it’s called?
    Last summer when I built our rock garden, I made one of those in it .. I just thought it was kinda neat since I couldn’t “grow” anything .. so I made one of those.

    And yes, I thought at first you may be speaking of the Cairn dog, which I have one of those as well.


  8. OH Red! You should take a pic of it and participate in the cairn meme! And have your pup sit next to it, too. COnsider yourself tagged. 🙂


  9. […] again, Curious C has an unusual post about one of her newfound hobbies. This girl has quite an imagination and […]


  10. When hiking Lithia Park, there is a clearing filled with rock stackings. Some are simple and others i wonder how the heck someone pulled it off.

    i love doing them. It is the only time my mind is quiet.

    Great pics.

    HI c! Thanks for stopping by! It was Annie the Writer Chick who sent you over, yes? I LOVE your blog, too and would comment more but just can’t find the right words! So, I’ll be a-lurking…


  11. […] causing them to crash their cars into Lake Massasecum. Who knows? Having yet to fully respond to CuriousC’s Cairn Meme post, I knew that something had to be done. I thought and thought and thought. Finally yesterday, I […]


  12. […] again, Curious C has an unusual post about one of her newfound hobbies. This girl has quite an imagination and […]


  13. […] you the damn picture.    And then, I was inspired to attempt a stacking of the rocks like any good cairn appreciator might do and this is what happened.  When I look at this structure, I first thought of a cartoon […]



Leave a Reply

