h1

A Phone Call, a New Dog and a Fifth Baby

May 7, 2008

When I heard the Idol music come on, I logged off and quickly began to prepare my dinner of Grilled Swiss (2 slices)  with a handful of baby spinach melted inside and a salad chock full of more baby spinach, cherry tomatoes,celery, carrots and Romaine lettuce.   

I didn’t like DC’s first song Hungry Like the Wolf.    I got tired of that one in the 80s!   Maybe because I lived that song, it just doesn’t click with me as a good Idol song…  blech.    Sysesha did a fine job with Proud Mary and really had the moves!     Simon thought it a bad imitation of Tina Turner and yet, what I was thinking during the performance, was how glad I was the Syesha wasn’t trying to sound like TT.   huh.

I swear Jason wants off the competition.    THEN!  I had the thought that maybe AI or even some other evil entity is paying him to ‘throw the fight’!  y’know – to make it interesting.     (Paranoid mind at work?)   It was dismal and horrendous.    He was quite animated for I Shot the Sheriff (sorry, only Clapton should be allowed, imo) and it made me think of the Muppets…   Did the Muppets ever cover this song?  I mean no disrespect to Bob Marley.

  Then my phone rang.    Caller display tells me that it’s a friend, maybe the only IRL friend who knows about and sometimes reads this blog.   I would have ignored her because AI was on!  but she must know that AI is on and thus, this call must be an emergency.   So I answer.

And, even though, it’s not a crisis/bad news/emergency, it is a GOOD NEWS SHARING call to let me know that I’m a dog-aunt.   She got a new puppy, sort of.   A rescue so he’s likely closer to 3 years old.   I may even have that all wrong…    CONGRATULATIONS!   Add this to today’s to do list:   buy puppy-shower gift.

With a little red wine loosening up my talking joints, I proceed to yap with her about all sorts of stuff and managed to miss DA, DC’s second song, SM’s second song and got back to it in time to see/watch Jason FORGET THE WORDS!?!???!?!    ugh.    massacre ahead.

DA sings a fine but boring Love Me Tender, the recap plays and I feel disappointed and not inspired.   I go let the dog out, the husband called to see if I was able to start the mower (I was, lawn’s now had a hair cut) and check a few blogs…

Dog gets all commotiony, barking and carrying on –  I see my neighbors get into their van and scurry up the street.    I recognize the MIL car in the driveway…     BABY!!?!     My neighbor is due-any-sec pregnant with their fifth baby, and it looks like the wee one might be wanting to come out and play.     And, now first thing this beautiful morning, I look out the window to see if their van’s back and NOPE, MILs car is still there, alone.   so!?    Maybe baby has arrived!    

BABY MAKES SEVEN.                  wow.

 

8 comments

  1. Oh, it kinda stinks that you missed some of A.I. Did you have it recorded? I hope so. I am just getting ready to write my review before someone gets eliminated tonight. Loved what you wrote here. I thought DA’s last perfomance, was blah too,and the judges just went ga-ga over it!???? Hmmm? And so disappointed in Jason… what the? I don’t think I fixed the url thing at my profile page but I did try. I’m trying to comment here and it says I’m logged in as Javaqueen14 and does not ask me for a url, so I’m guessing that’s the problem? Oh, help me Curious C!!!


  2. Wait, I think it worked! Because I just put my mouse over my name and it linked back to my site. BY GEORGE, I think I’ve got it! Is this what you were talking about? I always wondered how to fix that I AND I NEVER WOULD HAVE GUESSED!

    YIPPEE! Glad to help.


  3. I always DVR AI just in case there are interruptions. I can’t wait for tonight to see who goes. I love your RWBI. I wish I had enough WW points to do that. But I buy expensive diet soda and eat two snacks instead of one. I don’t care what anyone says I still like David Cook the best.

    Altho, youtube often has the songs, too so you can avoid commercials all together! I’m still rooting for DC,too. I wish Jason the best.


  4. I forgot all about AI this week, thank you for catching me up! And my God but that grilled cheese sandwich sounds wonderful. It’s 7:15 PM and I haven’t eaten yet … so I think that’s exactly what I’ll have. Thanks! 😉

    And how was YOUR grilled cheese? PS just sent you an email… Of course, by the time you read this comment response, you’ll probably have already checked your e/m so nevermind… It’s nothin earth shattering or anything.


  5. I love your ramblings! And that grilled cheese sarnie sounds gorgeous. Might have to go get some breakfast (it’s 8.30am here!)and I’m still in my pyjamas!

    OH! I LOVE that you love my ramblings. And that grilled cheese is on Wonder Whole Grain which is my fave bread if not from a real bread store… I thought our time difference was extreme – I’m going to get my Self Portrait to post at 2:00 am so you can see it when you wake up!


  6. OH! and Author? Thank you for my new word of the day: SARNIE! cool.


  7. OH you make me hungry with that grilled cheese! how are you curiou s C?

    HI Kaylee! Can you get grilled cheese in that ‘resort’ you are staying in?! hope so. I left a comment at your site you’ll probably read before this…. OH,yes, you’ve asked me a question: I’m good, thanks for asking. HUGS to you, my Dearie!


  8. Dang, you have a busy neighborhood. Must concur with you on all the Idol reviews – same. At least dreadlocks boy is gone now. I personally think the finale= both David’s. Am I wrong.

    Puppy shower gift – gee, why don’t I have friends like you? 🙂
    Annie

    Hi Annie – you got it right about the two Davids! and thx for the reminder on the puppy shower – I forgot! (my friend supposedly reads my blog but admitted to only reading the first para or so. ha! She never reads comments…) I need to remember that puppy gift, and to think, I was just in Petco! shame on me.



Leave a Reply

