h1

Flowering

May 6, 2008

I promised an updated pic of The Swale.    We added the rocks a few weeks ago and then just last weekend, added the mulch.   I have Lady’s Mantle growing all along which I will intersperse annuals and perennials so that in a few months/years time, it should look really colorful.    I do not join the debate between annuals and perennials;  I enjoy the planting so annuals that bloom for a long time are swell by me.   Most of my neighbors prefer to plant the perennials…    I plant both.

Yesterday afternoon, I volunteered to help beautify the patio at the nursing home.    All I did was show up and dig.   They wanted me to be ‘in charge’, they provided all the flowers – some which were too late to plant and not for this environment, but hey – and it was fun to ‘discuss’ with the ladies about how to divide the pink flowers and insist upon dividing the marigolds (ew – I dislike marigolds…) and I just tried to keep things moving and not fuel any disagreements!    They wanted me to be a flower expert and I am not.   I just do and like what I like.   I have no idea what I’m doing and if things bloom, hallelujah!    Keep ’em watered…   This porch is going to get a lot of sun.    Hope it all works out!    

Then I came home and decided not to mow the lawn which will now have to be done this afternoon.   In one of our troublesome areas, I ripped up 4 wheelbarrows of grass&weeds, added topsoil, planted a bunch of pachysandra ground cover and few viney things from one of the neighbors and added mulch.    It’s along the other end of the swale, closer to the house.

  

 

One of the most delightful things about a garden is the anticipation it provides.  ~W.E. Johns, The Passing Show

Unemployment is capitalism’s way of getting you to plant a garden.  ~Orson Scott Card
 
 
How fair is a garden amid the trials and passions of existence.  ~Benjamin Disraeli
 
 
 

 

3 comments

  1. Wow– you’re so talented. How sweet of you to volunteer at the nursing home– that’s a unique contribution, but it makes so much sense. The photos are wonderful.

    Now what’s a swale?


  2. HI Moonbeam, RWBI is about to start and since I don’t have a topic I will give this definition in that post!

    Talented? moi? Just lovin’ life and liking green things… and talking with little old ladies and a few of the cute old men. They’re always fun. I volunteer with the dog and it’s a pretty cool place, really. Very hip and happenin’.


  3. Looks like The Sway is progressing nicely. You’re making great use of such small piece of land.



Leave a Reply

