h1

Juxtaposition – A FUN Word

April 22, 2008

Well, I know, after all, it is only juxtaposition, Juxtaposition, in short; and what is juxtaposition?               – Arthur Hugh Clough 

   

Our next Photo Friday Theme is “Juxtaposition.”   I have been contemplating, considering, imaging, looking for and attempting to isolate this concept. 

Google Images offers many interesting photos and pictures and drawings and ideas to consider…    As does googling for quotes on this word. 

  Please enjoy a few of these I found most interesting.

 

I like the construction of sentences and the juxtaposition of words-not just how they sound or what they mean, but even what they look like.
 – Don DeLillo

      

Words are not pebbles in alien juxtaposition.
– Learned Hand

Answers.com gives us the wonderful definition of using the word we want defined as part of the answer by which little is explained…     The act or an instance of juxtaposing or the state of being juxtaposed.

Merriam Webster gives us a more and better: 

juxtaposition

One entry found.
jux·ta·po·si·tion 
Pronunciation:
\ˌjək-stə-pə-ˈzi-shən\
Function:
noun
Etymology:
Latin juxta near + English position — more at joust
Date:
1654
: the act or an instance of placing two or more things side by side; also : the state of being so placed
jux·ta·po·si·tion·al  \-ˈzish-nəl, –ˈzi-shə-nəl\ adjective
 
              
And WHAT does the Urban Dictionary give us today?   My favorite is this one:
Standing next to ugly people in order to make yourself look really hot.
But the best for me is the first on found: 
Contrasts and differences shown side by side or together.
juxtaposition

  Main Entry:

8 comments

  1. WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Well, hello Kaylee! How ARE ya? So, you like this word, too? I’m not sure I am quite as excited as you are – I bet you see a lot more juxtapositioning (unfortunately?!) than I do. But I thank you for your WOW! Much appreciated, “C”


  2. love the urban dictionary. it absolutely lays it on the proverbial line.

    what a fun entry! only wish i could take decent photos to join in the fun.


  3. I love your exploration of the word. I hadn’t come across some of those definitions myself. The one I have honed in on after research is the second half of this Wikedia quote:

    ”two random objects moving in parallel, or a technique intended to stimulate creativity.”

    I have decided that using a digital gizmo to manipulate a photo I took – might stimulate creativity in others.

    I feel like I might be copping out a bit though – now I’ve read your post!

    Hmmmmm! Deep thinks!

    Maybe I should try harder?


  4. PS; Wrekehavoc, if you have a digital camera and know how to use it, you can join in. We’re looking for fun creativity – not amazing skill (although amazing skill is OK too!)


  5. Quite the thinker, you are! I absolutely LOVE the idea of standing next to ugly people so that I can look hot. However, I’m wondering if that is the explanation for those people always standing next to ME! 🙂 The definition I used for juxtaposition isn’t nearly as interesting as all the things you have done here. Thanks for the preview!

    Author: Don’t try harder! Go with your instinct. Looking forward to what your efforts have produced!

    See you all on Friday!


  6. Words are sometimes impalpable. 🙂


  7. Aha! It means “close but no cigar”!


  8. Thanks for doing the leg work for us Curious C. I’m starting to get it now. I almost had it until Sue Ann left that Aha comment. But as usual with Sue Ann, just when I’ve given up trying to interpret what she’s written, I’ll get an Aha moment of just what she means and it will become crystal clear! Juxtaposition – it’s really a fun word though. Being that I live in an urban community, I can imagine myself saying, “stop juxtaposting me homee,” any day now!

    Peace, Light and Love, CordieB.



Leave a Reply

