h1

Photo Friday – Inspired by Art

April 17, 2008

Can you believe I’m off on another trip!?    Yes, so I look forward to reading any comments when I get back… on Monday or Tuesday…  (I say Tuesday because it’s difficult to blog when the Hub is home… Monday is a holiday here in Merry New England: Patriot’s Day)

I’m off to Nebraska to see friends and family and hopefully not bid on ANYTHING at the auction where the in-laws will be hocking off all the treasures.   I wrote a post on that;  click here to read through those thoughts…     here           And, alas – so sad, I won’t immediately be visiting all the other awesome Photo Fridays!   The theme this week is so exciting.    And I wanted to participate.   I think it’s Friday somewhere in the world, but for me, right now, it’s Thursday!   WordPress has given me the capability to prep and be ready early.
 
I’ve taken as my inspiration a painting of Gypsy Heart’s!  Mystery of the Woods: After Rain
 
So, run over to her blog and see this painting, then come back and oo-ah over my photographic creation!
 

To be honest, I took this photo many years ago.    When I saw the painting, I said to myself, “Self?   Doesn’t that remind you of something?   Why, yes, Counter-Self, it DOES!”

and together, my selves scampered off through my photo folders to find these:

 

I realize this wasn’t completed quite to the spirit of the intent!    We were encouraged to choose a classic painting and then select models/participants to pose to recreate the scene – but that’s what is so fun about such a project!   Everyone has such a different idea or perspective or tools to use to create this!   I’m sure Lou/Linda and Jan and Julie and Skywindow were able to interpret this in a variety of ways and I am looking forward to what is presented.

I feel like I cheated some since I used photos I had taken in 2004.    But the colors and the scene evoke the same mood.  At least to me, they did!  I hope you agree.    AND… my idea-wheels are turning to do this again.    

THANK YOU Gypsy-HEART!   

Click on the icon below to visit the origin of this fun activity; join in!

phot2.gif

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 comments

  1. I love the photos.

    I have tagged you for a meme. No rush or don’t do it if you feel like you don’t want to. No pressure.

    Have fun on your trip.


  2. I think they are beautiful, and just because you took them a while back is not a negative. With all art the meaning isn’t always instantly revealed..not until the time is right. Of course, the meaning can change, and it often does. 🙂

    I feel like we connected here as if I stepped into the painting..you zoomed us in on the Mystery of the Woods, After Rain. 🙂

    Let us know


  3. I think they are beautiful, and just because you took them a while back is not a negative. With all art the meaning isn’t always instantly revealed..not until the time is right. So I do not see it as cheating at all. 🙂

    I feel like we connected here as if I stepped into the painting..you zoomed us in on the Mystery of the Woods, After Rain. 🙂 I love them!

    Can’t wait to hear about your trip!


  4. Not sure what happened..sorry there are two from me. I wasn’t finished, and it started doing weird stuff and disappeared so I retyped it thinking it ws not there.
    Only me! :O


  5. oooh take notes in Nebraska: places for hdc to stop 🙂 haha. jk . have fun on your trip!


  6. Hi CuriousC,

    There is a complete freedom of artistic interpretstion in Photo Friday – that’s the great thing about it! We take the title – we do what we like with it – after all we’re not clones! In fact I chose a contemporary painting to reproduce myself, just because it had a cat in it!

    The original painting you chose by gipsy heart is stunning and how lovely that it inspired you to dig out an old photo. There is an amazing similarity of theme between them. I can see why it reminded you of your photo.

    Thanks for entering, even though you’re away – have a great weekend! 🙂


  7. I am amazed at how closely the painting and your photo match.

    That is great!

    Hope you have a safe trip and hurry home soon!


  8. […] Windows & Idea Jump! & BlahBlah […]


  9. I love your interpretation here. And sometimes the photo you’ve already taken dictates the interpretation. Not cheating at all in my book! Well done!

    Happy trails!


  10. I like what you’ve done…..it has a great feeling to it…you can almost smell the rain! And as far as using old photos, well, that’s the point of taking photos, isn’t it, to keep for future reference or use??? Sometimes our inspiration comes from an old photo, sometimes we are inspired to go take a photo! Have fun on your trip!


  11. Have a wonderful trip. And your photography is groovy 🙂


  12. C!
    Those are gorgeous photos and do in fact, look like paintings. I am always in awe of people who have that ‘good eye’ for photography. I’m still learning and my accomplishments are woeful.
    WC


  13. I must say, that seeing 12 comments to a post is a thrill! even if Gypsy-Heart dupl’d and explained it, I am very thrilled for the attention!

    @WriterChick, just don’t worry about it, take the pics and enjoy the process. LIke most things, huh?

    @Grace, thanks!!
    @Julie, yes, it’s it fun when you discover a pic that you had no idea you could find when you need it!?
    @Lou/Linda, do you have any idea how cool it is that I like to type Lou LInda instead of Linda Lou? weird? probably…. Anyway, THANKS.
    @Skywindows – your dot’s scream takes the cake!!!
    @Jan(Author), THanks! and yes! you are correct, the personal interpretation is energizing. FREEDOM.
    @Heather, I’ll have to dedicate a seperate post!
    @Gypsy-Heart, thank you. THANK YOU! yes, yes, yes. redundant, redundant, reduntant – WHO CARES.
    @Joan, OK! I’m excited to see the meme, thank you! I’m off now to go find out WHAT it is!!!

    Nebraska trip was very good. and so was today(Monday.) I admit, I was so excited to have my blog to look forward to…

    THank you Photo Friday – I’ve been thinking about Juxtapositioning ALL friggin’ DAY!!!


  14. A very neat concept. Lovely shots. 🙂



Leave a Reply

