h1

Setup For Friday, Part 2

April 10, 2008

Let’s see, at the end of the last post, I was dashing off to the restaurant to present my ‘Photographic Art’ (theme for tomorrow’s Photo Friday!   )

I had printed off my almost-sort-of Andy Warhol-ish composite of color, black&white, sepia tone, and cartoon effects, carefully trapped it in a RED folder, dressed up in a suit in order to take MYSELF seriously, and headed for downtown.

Would you believe she would have none of it?

One of the reasons I was most encouraged about this proposal was due to the friend, the one who had been given this artness in a frame as a birthday gift, had actually taken it to the restaurant and shown it off!   

“Lookie what my dear talented friend gave me!   It’s a scene from your front window;  Isn’t it cool?”  etc. 

Apparently, the owner had agreed.  [I’m sure she was just being polite.]   But she did tell my friend to have ME, the artist, stop by and quote her a price.

Well, in the attempt to assign value of my work, I had decided to give options.   Often times, in sales, they recommend a choice between something and something, which precludes a NO answer.    So, I pitched my picture framed or unframed.

She wasn’t interested.    At any price.

Not wanting to give it away for free, of course, I didn’t beg.    I gave her my price options and when no sign of bargaining began, I asked her what she might be willing to spend.    Put the ball in her court, right?

Nuttin’.   Well, she didn’t say it had zero worth, but would not throw out a number.

So…   impasse?

OK, I was ready for a final offer!     A trade!    in gift certificates!    I saw this as a win-win.     I believe small amount give cerficates are awesome incentives to customers who may not normally stop in and try the place!    If, as a small business owner with my own customers to thank, I were to pass out gift certificates in say $5 or $10 increments, wouldn’t they WIN?!     Gaining a customer(s) who probably would end up spending MORE than that?  And bring friends with them?   

Nope.   She didn’t go for it.

I thanked her for her time and went home.    [I will show the art tomorrow for Photo Friday.]

I really don’t want to name the restaurant because I hope they don’t find this little rant.   But they have really tasty food!   The best and freshest, my favorite Tarragon Chicken Salad on a buttery croissant.   Incredible desserts.    Unfortunately, with my change status change, I don’t work downtown and never go there anymore…  

Photo Friday! Click on the icon below to visit the origin of this fun activity; join in!

phot2.gif

2 comments

  1. I can’t beleive the silly woman wasn’t interested. I seriously hope that doesn’t put you off valuing your own work. I guess she just wanted a freebie – yet if you wanted a freebie meal in her restaurant sh’e object. Frustrating or what?

    The art work sounds really interesting – I can’t wait to see it.


  2. C~ I do hope you were not disheartened by the whole ordeal.

    The woman obviously did not know quality work at an excellent price!

    All is not lost dear one..chalk it up as experience in marketing. I have some of those myself!!

    Also, remember all those posts of me saying it is all subjective.

    One more thing some of the best advice I had (from my most favorite art professor)..
    “being an artist takes hard work…more hard work, and having thick skin.”

    ‘Twas her loss!

    I am very much looking forward to seeing your beautiful work! 🙂 Keep creating!!



Leave a Reply

