h1

Meet Wilhelmina

March 27, 2008

img_1000.jpg

THE BEFORE. 
For the beginning of this story:   New Project

For dressing her up like a doll for St. Patrick’s Day:    Happy Red Sox Fan

 I’m not sure that I will be able to mosaic her hair.   I’ll have to think up something creative.    Her face will definitely be a challenge…

I’ve been out scrounging plates at antique/junk stores and even stopped by the local craft store (chain) to see what mosaic-ing supplies they have…  I was actually disappointed to find out they have everything one would need.  Including BROKEN plates!  for $7?!?!?!   goodness, me.   That bothers me for some reason.    A lot of the fun is pulling out a funky scrolled plate from under a pile of dusty junk and deciding that it has enough flatness to it to be worthy of smashing.    But now, all ya gotta do is go to Michaels and buy the whole kit and kaboodle.   

Trust me, you can save money doing it the scrounge way.   From buying the caulking glue and grout from the hardware store, and plates from Goodwill, and even a rock or two from the yard!   I’m always finding discounted picture frames and other wooden decorating accessories – I check the clearance sections and have a stockpile of goodies to mosaic someday…

Here’s the ‘craft room’:   img_0996.jpg   And some of my tiles/odds&ends waiting patiently for me to get my nippers and hammer out to create interesting pieces to glue… img_0997.jpg img_0999.jpg img_0998.jpg            I found this cute terracotta crocodile in Costa Rica. 

img_1002.jpg 
She’s got some attitude, doesn’t she?  I’m still wondering if I should ‘dress’ her or go random-funk or swirly?   Maybe a combination.
     gggg
There are very few human beings who receive the truth, complete and staggering, by instant illumination. Most of them acquire it fragment by fragment, on a small scale, by successive developments, cellularly, like a laborious mosaic.             
-Anais Nin
8 comments

  1. HAHAHAHAH I Love her and her attitude!


  2. you even named her?


  3. Attitude is exactly what came to mind when she was revealed to me. Sassy..attitude she has!!

    I can’t wait to see her transformation!

    Hmmm…I could see custom orders coming out of this!! 🙂


  4. Love her attitude! Can’t wait to see her “dressed”

    It’s just great you “scrounge” – after all we live in a recycling age.


  5. Sounds like a fun project! It’ll be fun to see her come to life…


  6. I hope you make her look a little happier!


  7. I want to talk about her as a sex object because I find her sexy and she is, after all, an object. But somehow it doesn’t seem right to limit her that way. I think a swirly pattern might work a little better than dressing her. I guess she will guide you as you go.


  8. […] 4. Finish Wilhelmina!    to meet her, click here. […]



Leave a Reply

