h1

Contemplation

March 25, 2008

“Contemplation often makes life miserable. We should act more, think less, and stop watching ourselves live.”

Nicolas Chamfort – French playwright, 17411794  

easterflowers.jpg

Having just completed the book The Diving Bell and the Butterfly  by Jean-Dominic Bauby, I sense within myself a fine appreciation for the small things in life.    I am content with the joys of pretty flowers and sunshine, of children’s goofy giggling and delight with a gift of a simple balloon, with the comforting aroma of coffee brewing.    Life happens so fast…       Diving bell   or   img_0921.jpg 

One day at a time–this is enough. Do not look back and grieve over the past for it is gone; and do not be troubled about the future, for it has not yet come. Live in the present, and make it so beautiful it will be worth remembering.   unk

hhh

7 comments

  1. Nice quotations. Too much contemplation can be a negative thing, but too little can be too. I sometimes wish people would think a little more. Good point MB, good point.

    The pictures are lovely! Thx! The pink flowers were a table-top-take-home gift from a wedding shower I just went to.


  2. NIce quotes I am not in a good mood 😦

    Hey Kaylee, I’m sad you’re in a not-good mood. I indulge in a bad mood, occasionally, too, but I’m not going through what you are… Be a sunflower and look for that sunshine, too, OK?


  3. I love the little simple things too. Just feeling the sunshine on my face or hearing the kids next door giggle, can make my day.
    WC

    The simple things are a delight – when we look for them, right? (another poem! hee hee)


  4. I especially love the last quote “One day at a time–this is enough. Do not look back and grieve over the past for it is gone; and do not be troubled about the future, for it has not yet come. Live in the present, and make it so beautiful it will be worth remembering.” -unk…

    That’s the way I want to live my life.

    Me, too, Joan, me, too. I think you are doing fabulous!


  5. I read this book too – and found it very moving. I will also be going to see the film which I believe is to be released soon.

    As Edmund White said: “read this book and fall back in love with life”

    What do I love about today: I’m not working and can indulge in reading friend’s blogs, I’m sipping fresh coffee & nibling crispy toast as I write this, there is a wonderful refreshing fine rain falling outside, and I can hear the sound of the sea and seagulls in the distance. The small things are good.


  6. […] was reading a post by CuriosC about a book she’s just finished reading entitled The Diving Bell & The Butterflyby […]


  7. Putting this book on my list of “must reads”.



Leave a Reply

