h1

Short Sort-Of Movie Mini-Review, Like Maybe

March 24, 2008

Saw In the Valley of Elah last night.    At least 3 of the characters are also in No Country For Old Men:  Tommy Lee, Brolin and the lady at the chicken house (motel in NCFOM).  Any more?  

And was the hotel the same one!??!     Both movies are set in the Southwest…

It was distracting to keep thinking of NCFOM.   

It was an OK movie.   Tommy Lee did a super job, of course.   And Charlize was good, too.   

And that sums up my quick almost kind of not quite movie review that really doesn’t cut it cuz I didn’t tell you anything, did I?  

[About 4 hours later from the time I wrote the paragraphs above;  after lunch with Hub where we discussed this movie:   this is a disturbing film about how these kids we are sending to Iraq may not always come back home ‘the same’.    and how we may not know how to reach them, help them.   The thoughts that I have on this film are lingering, and growing in confusion, sadness and… weight.]

OH!   We saw The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford and I have to say it won’t appeal to many possibly (long…  dull?) but I LOVED it.   Something about the eery pace, breathtaking Missouri landscapes, and the wild craziness of celebrity that really GOT me, ya know?  No.  Of course, you don’t…   [I just googled ‘spell eery’ cuz it doesn’t look quite right to me and I got other website/blogs asking the same thing!   so, laziness got the best of me and I give up.  gottarun.]

One comment

  1. I liked “The Assassination of Jesse James by the coward Robert Ford” also. It was long but to me it was well worth it. The cinematography was excellent and so was the acting and music. It seemed to follow the true story of the events also. My son-in-law and my sister liked it also. I’ve got “No Country for Old Men” but haven’t seen it yet.

    I’m glad you liked it, too. Did you read my post on NCFOM? I loved the movie… I love the Coens.



Leave a Reply

