h1

Away From Her

February 17, 2008

Oh.   I knew this was going to be a tear jerker.   Just knowing it was about the Alzheimer’s experience could make it a probable downer.   Even the title conveys loss and heartache.    And isn’t Julie Christie about the most beautiful woman ever?   

I didn’t think Hub would want to watch this – he would rather watch a shootemup of some kind.   Or comedy.   So, I announced to him that I would be watching “AwayFromHerwithJulieChristieNominatedforBestActressItsAboutAlzheimersYouDon’t WantToSeeIt” first thing this morning.

After some really fun fishing adventure shows, Hub left the bed, put in the movie and I watched.  I cried.  

WE ARE ALL GOING TO DIE.

I don’t know why the possibility of Alzheimer’s closing off my synapses and making me forget and slowing feeling myself disappear is a greater fear than satellites hurling themselves at my neighborhood, or space aliens invading or terrorists dropping by my next plan to be a part of some large crowd…     I do believe that the loved ones who watch the Alzheimer’s ‘progress’ have to have the worst of it.     I know I have long life genes.   To run out of money while needing long term care is a worry.   To live that long and not live;   Ugh.   I plan on taking up skydiving and then not paying attention to my parachute packing lesson.   I swear, I don’t want to waste away and just lose it.

[My grandmother once gave me all her aluminum pans because she heard they would give her Alzheimer’s.     Think about that.   

What kind of gift and explanation is that!??!?!?    Gee, thanks, Grandma.]

This was a wonderful love story, well acted, well paced.   I’m assuming it has many elements of how a typical Alzheimer’s case might go.   Julie is lovely.  The courage!  She was amazing.   So was Grant played by Gordon Pinsent.    A touching, heartrending film.   

Well done, Sarah Polley.   

And, I’m putting Letters From Iceland on my tbr list.   What he read to her from this book was intriguing!

8 comments

  1. I’ll definitely have to watch this one. I have a friend whose mother died of Alzheimer’s, and if you head over to the Smoke and Mirrors blog (the link’s on my sidebar), ~m writes some very poignant stuff about dealing with his father’s Alzheimer’s. His mother had it too.

    And wow. Thanks Grandma!

    I hope this makes sense. I still have the flu.


  2. Surprising moonbeam didn’t list losing the marbles among her fears. Guess she kinda did with the fear of aging. Losing the mind’s got a special horror in that one’s not going to realize that it’s happening. Thanks for the recommendation.


  3. I already did that one, David. So I got to cross it off the list.


  4. This movie really does look fascinating. I’ll definitely have to watch it alone, Buck couldn’t handle this for two seconds.

    @ David – I think they do realize it in the very beginning, and that’s partly why many Alzheimer’s patients are very combative in early stages. I’m not sure, though.


  5. Sarah Polley. (She’s SUPER HOT- another amazing Canadian!)

    Better throw those aluminum pans away.

    Good point Wendy, now SHUT UP!


  6. Thx David, YES Sarah – I my fingers aren’t in communication with my brain sometimes… I fixed it.

    The alum pans were thrown away a long time ago…

    and, yes, Julie’s character knew she was on the slippery slope and even jokes about it. It was her husband who was caught in undecisions.


  7. @Moonbeam, get well soon! PS. I loved the ‘insert picture of ____ here’ in your post on Dixie! Brilliant and quite effective.

    @Wendy, It’s a good film. Don’t let David tell you to shut up.

    @David, my blog is a violencefreezone. 🙂


  8. I wrote a blog today and much of it was about my bad memory. I didn’t use the A word though because I refuse to think I could ever get that. I have many other excuses for my bad memory. Some of which I didn’t even remember to write about.



Leave a Reply

