h1

Skipping

January 29, 2008

I used to love to skip when I was a kid.   It tires me to skip now.   I hate getting older.  And I hate thinking that at my age which is too young to think of boring tedious topics that involve whining about age.

I do find it fascinating how fast children grow up.     Why did it seem to take forever?   

And from that under 10 perspective, it was amazing how old I thought people were when they were over 40!   Probably thought that for over 30.   

I always thought my older cousins were ‘cool’.    Strangely alien, but cool.   

I was the youngest of 14 cousins on my mother’s side of the family.    I adored every cousin!     I didn’t get to see them much – we were scattered to the winds and lived in many different states.

Skipping; casually moving along but in a peppy manner…     Like the thoughts in my head right now.    The online definers give the following in response to the search to define skipping:

To move by hopping on one foot and then the other. To leap lightly about.

Ah, to leap about lightly!  Sounds fun.

Googling for a quote to insert, I stumble upon this ditty from the Scottish dramatist James Matthew Barry:

“When the first baby laughed for the first time, the laugh broke into a thousand pieces and they all went skipping about, and that was the beginning of fairies.”

   

    

I must skip off now, I have my first training class for the Adult Literacy / Reading Initiative.   ta ta for now!   See you on the morrow…  kite3.jpg

  

  

6 comments

  1. I love that quote! Skipping was really fun, wasn’t it? Now it’s rather grueling. I have trouble getting my ass off the ground. And my legs feel like they weight to much to lift. It would be great exercise, but I think I’d have to get in shape before I could even do the skipping.


  2. When my son was in kindergarten, he failed skipping! I’m not kidding, the teacher told me about how wonderful and gifted he was, then she sadly broke the news to me that he didn’t know how to skip. I always felt sort of sad about it.


  3. @MBMQ – If I were you, I’d be kind of happy about it.


  4. I just realized that sounded kind of odd, and what I wanted it to sound like was, if my free-spirited little boy was coloring outside the lines, I’d cheer him on. 🙂


  5. @ Wendy: Heehee. I was going to say, “Well, if he was skipping now, I might be concerned, but…”

    In third grade, he had a teacher who gave him the crap about “coloring in the lines,” except she’d told the class to draw what spring looked like to them. My son closed his eyes, imagined spring, and drew this beautiful, free-form picture with splashes of color and gentle shapes. The witch told him, “That’s not what spring looks like.” I was so angry when I heard about it that I drove him straight to an art gallery, and showed him loads of different styles of paintings. I told him that what he had colored was exactly what spring looked like, because it was his interpretation. GRRRRRR… (He’s a really excellent painter now, by the way).

    Sorry. You guys are going to have to stop making me free associate.


  6. @ MBMQ – What a great story! And you’re a great, great mom. What a sweet kid. Some teachers, well, I don’t even know what to say. How could they be so evil? And stupid?



Leave a Reply

