h1

Nuttin GOin ON ’round here…

January 24, 2008

Nothing going on for me today!??!   That’s actually not quite true.   I just don’t have time to blog about it.  Or is it the willingness or – oh yes!   the stress of attempting funny witticisms about it!  

So, I’m off to my busy day of walking my 2+ miles (good girl!), watching last night’s DVR’d Project Runway, and taking the Pupster off to see his friends at the nursing homes.

I do want to say, that I have enjoyed listening to my Sirius radio lately.  I’ve been bumping up and down through channels 006 – SIXTIES!, oo7-the 70s, and 008 – Big 80s.    And AH!  the memories that these songs churn up from the muck!

And then I get back here (my chair in front of the PC) and don’t remember…    OH!  I do remember!      I had composed a blog post in my head while driving….  something clever about how Lynn Anderson MUST be the internet!    Her song, Rose Garden – can you imagine it?   When the song came on, I was reflecting that blogging is helping my mental state.   That this blog exercise HAS been good therapy so far.     I used to drive around and berate myself for all the shoulds and coulds and didn’ts and dos.    Over and over and over – yelling at myself, crying, singing, yapping, non-stop mental crap…   aw!  the questions and doubts, blah/blah/blah.    Of course, this was also when I was trying to be employed and make money.     But now, I am much happier.   And I’m not obsessing about myself and talking to my self.  The inner self-analysis has been quieted.    And, what do I think about instead?   Why I compose blog posts in my head!    So think about the words to this song and relate it to bouncing around here in blog-world.    But then, again, I could just be crazy…  

Her words, her sentiment is EXACTLY as if this blog world is talking back at me:

I beg your pardon,
I never promised you a rose garden.
Along with the sunshine,
There’s gotta be a little rain sometimes.
When you take, you gotta give, so live and let live,
Or let go.
I beg your pardon,
I never promised you a rose garden.

I could promise you things like big diamond rings,
But you don’t find roses growin’ on stalks of clover.
So you better think it over.
Well, if sweet-talkin’ you could make it come true,
I would give you the world right now on a silver platter,
But what would it matter?
So smile for a while and let’s be jolly:
Love shouldn’t be so melancholy.
Come along and share the good times while we can.

I beg your pardon,
I never promised you a rose garden.
Along with the sunshine,
There’s gotta be a little rain sometimes.

Instrumental break.

I beg your pardon,
I never promised you a rose garden.

I could sing you a tune or promise you the moon,
But if that’s what it takes to hold you,
I’d just as soon let you go, but there’s one thing I want you to know.
You better look before you leap, still waters run deep,
And there won’t always be someone there to pull you out,
And you know what I’m talkin’ about.
So smile for a while and let’s be jolly:
Love shouldn’t be so melancholy.
Come along and share the good times while we can.

I beg your pardon,
I never promised you a rose garden.
Along with the sunshine,
There’s gotta be a little rain sometimes.

To fade.

One comment

  1. Wow.

    “I could sing you a tune or promise you the moon,
    But if that’s what it takes to hold you,
    I’d just as soon let you go, but there’s one thing I want you to know.
    You better look before you leap, still waters run deep,
    And there won’t always be someone there to pull you out…”

    This REALLY spoke to me. Thanks for posting this.



Leave a Reply

