h1

Mexican Lasagna

January 6, 2008

Or is it lasagne?   First, right off the bat, allow me to again stress with high emphasis that I don’t cook much.   I can follow recipes but then I misplace them and just make it up if I ever want to make it again.   Thus is the case here.  I can’t find the card that tells me the quantities.    and I freely admit that I usually just wing it and it always seems to taste good.    Joanharvest requests a low-cal alternative?   Hmmm,  maybe use turkery burger rather than beef?    Lowfat sour cream and low-fat Velveeta?    Whole wheat tortillas?     Actually,  I do have a link to a Cream of Chicken Soup substitute, which I do have ready in my cupboard, because my mother-in-law gets migraines from MSG and canned-creamed-soups ALL have msg…    SO link here if you want to see it…

List of Ingredients

Velveetavelveeta_logo.gif  

2 cans of Ranch Style* Beansranch_style1.jpg(or mex beans of some type)

1# Hamburger

Rotel** Tomatoes (yep another BRANDed item; they are spicy!)

Cream of Chicken Soup

Flour Tortillas

Sour Cream

1.  Brown the hamburger with onion and garlic and cumin and whatever mex-y spices you like.   Sometimes I stir in salsa for kicks.

2.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

3.  Stir together Rotel Tomatoes with the Cream of Chicken soup (no water – just what’s in the can)

4.   In deep casserole dish (spray with no-stick), sprinkle in a few heaping tablespoons of the hamburger.    Then, strip up some tortillas in 1″ widths and layer (loosely with spaces between) over the hamburger, dollop on some of the tomato-soup mixture, layer on 1/2 ” cubes of Velveeta.   (As much as you like but you shouldn’t use TOO much…  personal preference and discretion!)   Layer on some of the beans.  

5.  REPEAT layering until the pan can’t hold much more and/or you run out of ingredients. 

6.  Bake in the oven  for 30-40 minutes or until bubbly hot throughout.    Serve with shredded lettuce, salsa, sour cream, black olives, tortilla chips, whatever.  YUM!

I really have to have the Ranch Style Bean brand to make it taste like I want it to.    They are unique and wonderful…    

                                        – “C”kite3.jpg

UPDATE:   *   Ranch Style Beans come in cans of 15 oz.   The can info tells me they were first introduced in 1935.  Probably what we would call a ’boutique’ brand…   Just some family recipe canned up and doing just fine until ConAgra gobbled them up and did a study that New Englanders and certainly not Canadians!!!  wouldn’t buy southwestern flavored beans…

**   Rotel Tomatos come in can size of 10 oz…

12 comments

  1. Do they really make low fat Velveeta? I use ground turkey a lot but I also found (a very expensive) hamburg that is 96% FF. I also found a lower calorie, high fiber tortilla. Campbells soup makes a low fat cream of chicken soup and beans are a good source of fiber. It sounds workable even for a WW like me. Yea! I will try it and let you know how my low fat version comes out. Thanks for posting the recipe.


  2. Joan, I’ve never seen low fat Velveeta at the Stop&Shop but I know they had at Kansas City grocers… Good luck! Hope you like it.


  3. Just wanted to stop by and say your About Page was the cutest! I found you through Joanharvest’s blog/comment and it seems like you’ve got an interesting thing going on here…I like reading blogs in a variety of writing styles/topics…

    Cheers 🙂

    PS: what does a “ranch style” bean mean? That sounds intriguing…


  4. Thanks for posting the recipe C! Sounds yummy! I’m not a huge Velveeta fan, so I’ll probably use pizza cheese instead. What size are the cans of beans and RoTel tomatoes?


  5. Sounds delicious and (best of all) easy! I’m not a Velveeta fan either, but I’ll try it in this. Yum.


  6. I suppose if I can’t find low fat Velveeta I could use my 2% shredded cheddar. I doubt that I’ll be in Kansas any time soon so I’m stuck with Stop & Shop or maybe Shaw’s. CuriousC, did you live in my area ever?


  7. @Romi – You are a very prolific commentor in this greatbigfunblogworld! and I admire your ability to ‘say something’. Really! I often don’t comment cuz I either have too much to say or just go blank… Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    @ Non-Velveeta-ers… If you didn’t grow up with it, I don’t think you can understand! It’s all about the meltabilty and (sort of) disappear-ability. It is NOT something you would put on a sandwich.

    @Joan – I live off-Cape and recognize your lovable CapeCoddedness.

    OK – how many words have I made up this month!? Last night watching the football game I said something about the sound guys being particularly keen with pickeruppability for the crack of helmets colliding… (roll eyes here)


  8. Oh! David, I updated the recipe with can size. See note at end of post…


  9. hi C!

    thanks for posting the recipe. now i have to look if there’s velveeta cheese in germany. i haven’t really paid much attention before, all i remember is that there’s philadelphia.i have to substitute the local stuffs here for rotel beans and the tomatoes too … (spicy…hmmm must look) lol. let’s see how mine’s gonna taste like then. 😀


  10. @Eyna, Hallo! Wie gehts?! Good luck? I don’t think Philadelphia Cream Cheese will have the effect you want! Any meltable nacho-like cheese you can find? Oh goodness… (and I KNEW you were a blog I had visited! 🙂 )


  11. I love Velveeta and I’m just glad that other people do too. And ugh on the dentist appointment. How did it go?

    Hi Wendy, my dental appt went just fine. Though I was a little startled on the copay $; I forget that sometimes they want money, and sometimes they don’t. Shall we start a Velveeta Club? -“C”


  12. hahaha, I would not call myself a prolific commenter, I think it’s just that I can’t seem to shut the heck up in verbal-world, and that translates into written form…it’s a lovely habit 😉



Leave a Reply

