h1

Resignation, Part 2

December 27, 2007

I officially resigned today.     (To read my letter, click here.)

The face to face ‘sit down’, the knowing smile, then hand over the letter.

ALL

IS

GOOD

I also gave L a lead; a couple whose house will be a challenge to sell as well as being a challenge to assist in finding their next.    Cha Ching!  Can you say REFERRAL FEE?   I just may have a chance to make a profit in real estate after all.

I was advised to ‘get out there.’     Don’t sit at home and be sucked into the 2 dimensional world called INTERNET…    It’s possible that my next big career is quietly waiting for me to discover it?

A wonderfully fascinating place to visit if you have time on your hands and skills to offer:   Volunteer Match.  new_logo.gif I’ve signed up to assist with a Reading & Literacy effort at a local library.   Training starts in January.   Shall I volunteer to help seniors understand Medicare?    Could I be one of those dear souls who just ‘be there’ and hold a hand so no one dies alone?    Perhaps handing out cookies at a blood drive….   Or throwing the hammer at Habitat for Humanity logoh.gif    and Homes For Our Troops.   I am making phone calls to inquire about more pet therapy visitations, too.

I want to take a few classes at the community center…   Web Design, Grant Writing, Creative Writing, Pie Making,  BE-Your+Best (rah rah) classes, etc.      I would love to take a Yoga class and definitely a self-defense class.   

I am afraid of commitment.   I’m afraid of over-committing!    I’m terrified of a schedule, having been without one for so long;  I really REALLY enjoy my slow pace.

As I like to say to my Hub,

“It takes a lot of time just to be me.”     cghkite.jpg

 But it’s time I give back, give more…

– “C” of Idea Jump

8 comments

  1. Good for you!Take your time being you! I know it has taken a long time to find myself, and i am still growing and learning….Happy New Year!


  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


  3. I second that motion!

    C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S

    Gice yourself the ‘Present’ of doing someting where Appreciation and Gratitude and Value will be showered upon you. Where you will be recognized for the kind of person you are, a caring one, rather then how much money you can make for others while starving yourself.


  4. Congratulations and best of luck in your new fabulous career!


  5. WOW!! I’m so impressed! Someone’s who’s really following their heart and their dreams.

    Yippee!!


  6. i love that quote “it takes a lot of time to be me” thanks for that one!!!!!!!


  7. You’re a love and I appreciate the way that you think of others.

    There are so many people that only think of themselves, of how they look or sound or come across but it’s clear that you are one of the ones who truly walk the path of love and truth.

    Thank you for being you, for giving to others – not to look good but because you truly care and love.

    Peace baby.


  8. <>

    Congratulations on the resignation! Doesn’t it feel so good and liberating?? Don’t feel obligated to rush into another commitment and don’t worry about what ‘everybody’ else is thinking and what to say when they ask – “So what are you doing now?” I spent many years not living up to other people’s expectations for me and being ‘under-employed.’ I also took what I call my year off from life between the fall of 2005 and the fall of 2006. Not really totally off from life, but from any sort of work or commitments and took time to get reacquainted with myself. The best thing I ever did.

    I have to recommend the book, “The Gift of a Year” by Mira Kirshenbaum. It was published in December 1999, so might not get it at the local bookstore but you can probably find a copy at the library or through Amazon if your interested.



Leave a Reply

