h1

Resignation

November 30, 2007

Version 1

Dear Boss,

I quit.

Sincerely,

C——

       

Version 2

Dear firstname lastname & partner,

Thank you so much for the opportunity to work for you and for ___company___.     I do believe that you represent the best in the industry; this market, this locale.   It has been an honor to be involved in some small way with the beginnings of and the building up of  ___company___ .

However, it is time I must move on.     As E.B. White once said, “We should all do what, in the long run, gives us joy, even it it is only picking grapes or sorting the laundry.”        I do not fault current market conditions, nor blame any failures on external influences; my heart is telling me that this is not a fit for me right now.    

Respectfully submitted,

C—–

  

   

To free us from the expectations of others, to give us back to ourselves–there lies the great, singular power of self-respect.         – Joan Didion

12 comments

  1. Did you really resign???

    I’ve written something like this in my own head 100s of times..but I haven’t actually turned it in.


  2. I have not yet drafted the letter on paper. Probably will on Monday. But the beauty (?!) of working real estate is that I quit ‘working’ a LLOOOoooonnnnnng time ago. I just still go to the office and pick up my mail once a week… and pay my monthly ‘dues’. stupid silly me!


  3. I loved both of these and would be hard pressed to choose one.

    Wendy… I know, I know. Do I go pithy or with sentimental bullshit? My settin’ of the scene, is to say the words of Version 1 while handing over the printed copy of Version 2… Oh, whom I kidding?! I’ll leave the V.2. in her mailbox!!


  4. I have been reading your blog and would like to add you to my blogroll. Is that OK? I am a friend of Wendy’s (Life with Buck). Actually our sons who are now 26 grew up together since they were about 7 years old and Wendy worked with my sister, Barbara, at our local newspaper and they are best friends. I am no writer but I decided I needed something to do after I retired about a year ago. My brain was getting addled and I need to keep it sharp, at least a little, so I thought this would be good for me. I just need some new friends to actually read it other than Wendy and my sister. I am very new at this so bear with me. I still have not figured out all the technical stuff. But I will try. I love your writing and I love getting lost in other people’s lives.

    Hello JH! Welcome, welcome! You may certainly blogroll me and visit/lurk/comment as often as you like! You write very well – I enjoy visiting you. I think I blogrolled you, and didn’t ask permission – hope YOU don’t mind… 🙂 “C”


  5. Curious “C” –
    I say JUST DO IT! ASAP! – Today, Tomorrow, Yestreday, already! (And life will be so much better – inside and out.) I turned in my own resignation two weeks ago, actually I didn’t have to write a formal letter, but went to my “new” boss (there had recently been a leadership change where I work) and spoke with him face to face. He said he was sad and would have loved to have had the opportunity to work with me, but he understood my reasons for leaving. By the end of our conversation he said he had never been so blessed my someone resigning before. The great part was with him being new, he wasn’t the reason for my leaving and I could state my griefs to him easier than having to deal witht he people who were causing them.

    I, too, had stopped doing many of my vital functions a while ago because I no longer believed in the mission of the organization. It was a huge relief to get rid of the dichotomy and charade of “pretending” to be hard at work.

    Monday I begin a new chapter in this world of work and am excited and revitalized by the prospects!


  6. I like the Hemingway-esqueness of version 1, but I know that the kinder, gentler version 2 is more proper. Whichever you send, congratulations!


  7. ===> Bop, thanks for the encouragement! It’s really not that big of a deal since I’m a contractor… It’s not like anybody has even noticed a change! and CONGRATS to you! sounds like this is a good move for you. I look forward to reading your posts on your new adventures. 🙂 -“C”

    ===> MBMcQ, thanks for the critique. I was just toying with an idea for a post that was Hemingway-esque. Isn’t he the one who did ‘It was a dark and stormy night? or do I have that confused with somebody else… Now I better go google that and correct this! -“C”


  8. I had to look it up (I’m such a geek). It was written by a Victorian novelist named Edward-Bulwer Lytton. He’s supposed to be one of the worst writers in history. Hemingway was noted for being really sparse with words in his writing. Direct and to the point– just like your letter of resignation.


  9. I’d go with version 2. Just my choice, my 2 cents.

    Peace today.

    ~ RS ~


  10. […] the way, CuriousC has a great quote on one of her posts. It says, “To free us from the expectations of others, […]


  11. […] December 27, 2007 Resignation, Part 2 Posted by CuriousC under Employment, Liveliness, News, Real Estate | Tags: Commitment, Giving, Time, Volunteering |   I officially resigned today.     (To read my letter, click here.) […]


  12. Hmm. I missed this somehow, but caught it on the follow up.

    My resignation letter that I’m holding onto in my head is something like this:

    “Dear Boss,

    Please accept my resignation effective fourteen days from today.
    Thank you for the opportunity to see how the radiology department really works.

    Most sincerely,
    Me.”

    Hemingway-esque works 🙂



Leave a Reply

