h1

Weird Pie

November 19, 2007

My obsession with weird pie started when the Hub asked me,

“How come we don’t ever see ‘Pear Pie’?”

100_4105.jpg  And, then, just the other day, someone entered ‘weird pie’ into a search engine and they found my blog.   I don’t think they left a comment, however, which is too bad.    I hope they found what they were looking for.    

I’ve played with different pie crusts, taken a few pie classes, bought all the gadgets and have become obsessed with PIE.   I even set a goal in 2006 to make a different (often ‘weird’) pie each month.    I have to admit that lately I cheat with the crust;   the rollup store-brand is just fine for me.   I am more interested in the insides.   IT’S THE INSIDE THAT COUNTS!   Isn’t that right, Mom?  pies.jpg

Nowadays, you can find pear pie everywhere, or so it seems; but just a few short years ago, you never saw it at all.     Why, yesterday, I saw cranberry-pear pie on the cover of something at the grocery store (don’t even attempt to try and pull up the Family Circle mag website – impossible long to load!)

Perusing the fresh fruit section of the grocery store I frequent, I thought about the Poor Papaya.   Why not?!     and googling such, I find more than a few recipes!   I DO love the internet…  So, I will definitely create one of these for this week’s feasting festivity.

Somewhere, however, I promised Anna my recipe for Grape Pie.     Please try it – you’ll not only love the color, you’ll love the taste.    And using fresh grapes to prepare for this is WHOLE lot easier than pitting cherries!   and shouldn’t stain your fingers.  but yea, blueberries from the frozen bag are easy, too…

Grape Pie (*source unknown!)

4 cups halved seedless red (or black) grapes (~2#) 
2/3 cup sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
3 Tbsp cornstarch
2 Tbsp lemon juice
1 Tbsp grated lemon peel
pastry for double crust pie
2 Tbsp butter
(and half-n-half and cool sugar if you got it…) 

In saucepan, combine grapes, sugar and cinnamon;  tossing to coat and letting stand for ~15 minutes.   Combine cornstarch, lemon juice and peel and stir this into the grapes.    Turn on the heat and bring to boil; cook & stir for ~2 minutes or til thickened.  

Line pie plate with dough.  Add filling.   DOT WITH BUTTER.  Place top dough, cut slits, trim seal & flute the edges.    Brush with half-n-half and sprinkle the ‘cool’ sugar (like Domino’s demerara cane sugar).

Cover edges loosely with foil.   Bake at 425 degrees for 20 minutes.  Reduce heat to 350 degrees, remove foil and bake 30-35 min til golden.   Cool on wire rack.

Enjoy!

* I copied this recipe down in my own handwriting and I failed to note where I found it!   So I apologize for publishing without true source of origin…

11 comments

  1. Yes, it was totally me! I was wondering if you had to peel the grapes. Do the skins kind of just disintegrate? It sounds AMAZING! Thank you!


  2. Yes, NO PEELING required. They aren’t noticeable – just yummy PURPLEness.


  3. […] WHAT is the weirdest pie I’ve ever attempted.    (well, maybe if you haven’t read the post titled Weird Pie…)  Am I right?  Go on, you can […]


  4. I actually just made a pineapple pie. my aunt and uncle came over to watch the game unknowing of my endeavor and brought pineapple coconut ice cream. a very pleasant coincident. the pie was good but the filling needed more time to thicken.
    the recipe can be found here.

    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Pineapple-Pie-III/Detail.aspx


  5. Thank you M,Luther! I was imagining a custardy or like lemon meringue, not this 2 crusted wonder. I’m definitely going to try this.

    I also have a carrot pie on the list – my aunt says her recipe is like a pumpkin pie but brighter carroty orange. SOunds great, huh?


  6. […] Wierd Pie  (I explain my pie obsession and give a recipe) […]


  7. Hello there! I entered “weird pie” into the search engine and bam, here I am. My family hosts a pie night after Turkey Day (My gram makes about 20 pies in one day and I make all that I can …about 6 haha)
    We need to branch out and create some unusual pies this year, thanks for the inspiration 🙂


  8. Hi Marianne! Thank you so much for commenting! I like to meet other pie-fanatics. I just made the carrot pie (a LOT like pumpkin, but different enough to notice) and my next pie will be orange meringue…


  9. […] buy stuff to make a grape pie that I’ve been thinking about ever since CuriousC at Idea Jump posted the recipe way back in November of aught-7. Yes, a grape pie. Why does that sound weird? So I bought a couple pounds of Chilean seedless […]


  10. so, all i had to do was type “weird” to find this on the first page of google… pretty cool huh? i definitely want to try grape, pineapple, and maybe the cranberry pear (sounds delicious!) thanks for the cool site!
    -sierra


  11. Ha! I also Googled “weird pie” and found this old blog entry. Is it just me, or is there a distinct outline of a lobster in the crust of the pie in the photo?



Leave a Reply

