h1

Banner Photo

November 1, 2007

As I write this, I am featuring a banner photo of BEER.   Specifically, the beer sampler served by the City Tavern in Philadelphia.   The same spot and replica of building where many of our first politicians drafted legislation.   AND, we can assume that they were enjoying some libations as they so drafted.  

My favorite is a beer created from Thomas Jefferson’s Collection of Recipes.   Very nice.   The Geo Washington beer was OK and I was not fond of the Ben Franklin.     As a public service to my readers, I share the link to the website for the City Tavern

I warn you that my banner photo will change.    I love to take photos of flowers and am playing with the special effects on one snapshot of eeks!  I think they are begonias…    but I wanted to prepare you.    I realize that if this was a commercial blog, it may be important to create a single presentation theme/concept of consistent colors and graphics.     But it’s just me and I do this entirely for selfish me.

The photo currently is:    phila1007097s.jpg

And the photos I’m considering are:   fallflow2.jpg   fallflowersa.jpg

And the photo I had (zinnias!) before the beer:

 100_4296.jpg

Also…  another warning:    I will be unable to post for a variety of reasons and will resume mid-November.     

“What is the feeling when you’re driving away from people, and they recede on the plain till you see their specks dispersing? -it’s the too huge world vaulting us, and it’s good-bye. But we lean forward to the next crazy venture beneath the skies.”  Jack Kerouac 

 You and I will meet again, When we’re least expecting it, One day in some far off place, I will recognize your face blog, I won’t say goodbye my friend, For you and I will meet again  Tom Petty

9 comments

  1. I really like that you’ve been changing your banner photo. It’s interesting, the photos are really beautiful, and I’m never sure what I’ll find when I come here. The surprise element is fun. Keep it up, it’s very cool.


  2. I enjoy all your pictures! What with me between houses as we fix one up, my pictures and pretties are all packed away. I come here so I can see some. Pretties, that is.

    As we watched our house on fire many years ago, my husband remarked that what with the digital age, it was time he replaced all his photography studio equipment anyway.

    See? I enjoy pretty pictures so much I married a photographer….


  3. Let’s get back to the beer. I love beer, especially fun beers from local breweries. I used to live in Philly, and I’ve been to City Tavern. Your picture made my mouth water.

    A friend of mine owns The Grey Lodge Pub in north Philly, and his bar was named one of America’s Best Bars by Esquire in 2006. Now that man has some amazing beers….


  4. I love your pictures! This one with the beer is awesome!


  5. I love the beer pic!! And I love beer. I am going to Philly this weekend but will be enjoying not so classy beer from inside the Eagles stadium 🙂 COME BACK TO BLOGGING ASAP!


  6. Change is good.

    I hope you have a lovely break from blogging. It does the heart good and I wish you all the best – love, peace, beauty, happiness, harmony and understanding.

    Much love,

    ~ RS ~


  7. Hello ALL! I’m BAAaaaaackkkk! Just took a whirlwind family-see; it was exhausting, I couldn’t remember my wordpress pswd and so I just didn’t bother blogging. Thank you all for commenting! I will post glorious photo(s) soon. “C”


  8. Buck-Life-r – Thanks, I will continue to mix it up and post pretty pics for you.

    Sue Ann – Your comment as well as the CA fires remind me of my thoughts to prepare for such a tragic event. I would grab my photo albums and need to save all a few 1000 from this PC before it crashes!

    Beth – yes, let’s DO get back to the beer!
    We found a restaurant that offers MANY MANY beers on tap and I’m excited to hear it will soon be invading my geography: The YARD. Do you have one in SDCA?

    Hallie – thanks for stopping by!
    LB – how SWEET of you to miss me?! cool.

    and Ruby, you are so wonderful and all those good things hop off the monitor when I read your comments: peace, love, happiness, etc. Positive energy is REAL and a-happening.
    THANKS SO MUCH! “C”


  9. Love the new banner!



Leave a Reply

