h1

Post #102 on BELIEF

October 16, 2007

I’m joining Sibbia in writing a post that the covers the result of challenging one belief!

But since I have had some trouble in making a decision among so many (or so little) beliefs to challenge, I preferred to gather some quotes on “BELIEF”.  

My favorites are:

By Bertrand Russell, one of our world’s most influential intellectuals (say that 6 times fast.)

The point of philosophy is to start with something so simple as not to seem worth stating, and to end with something so paradoxical that no one will believe it. from The Philosophy of Logical Atomism

Everything is vague to a degree you do not realize till you have tried to make it precise.

 

and,

 

Believe those who are seeking the truth. Doubt those who find it.    Andre Gide

Andre Gide was a French critic, novelist and essayist (probably would have had an awesome blog!) who said more great inspiring things like:

Be faithful to that which exists nowhere but in yourself – and thus make yourself indispensable.    

               and                         …Dare to be yourself. 

     

      

I gotta keep it light, folks!  Have a fantabulously sunny day and Love,Love,Love it all.

4 comments

  1. {{curiousc}} Blessings to you! I put up a post that cooperates with the discussion you’ve got here, if you’d care to read it.

    Oh yes, I will stop by to read it! Thanks! “C”


  2. I love quotes, i have many this one is one of my favorites:

    “Don’t ask yourself what the world needs; ask yourself what makes you come alive. And then go and do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”Howard Thurman

    Hallie! Yes, one of my very favorites, too! Thanks for reminding me. “C”


  3. Thanks for joining me, I like the company 🙂

    I’ve seen some interesting posts in response and this one adds to them.

    Quotes can say so much in a very memorable way. Thanks for responding!\


  4. Ooh, those are some great quotes. I’ve known some philosophers who druve me crazy when I try and speak with them. Around and around.

    The first Andre Gide quote you mentioned is one I’ve seen about five times in as many days. Odd how that happens.

    Do keep it light and I’ll try to as well. Peace. ~ RS ~



Leave a Reply

