h1

The Greatest of These is LOVE

September 24, 2007

13:11  When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I felt as a child, I thought as a child. Now that I have become a man, I have put away childish things.
13:12  For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I will know fully, even as I was also fully known.
13:13  But now faith, hope, and love remain–these three. The greatest of these is love.

Besides the big ‘LOVE’ message this is known for, I had always interpreted this verse as an admonishment to ‘stop being so childish’.   I’m re-thinking this.

I had this bible verse read at my wedding.   It was read at sorority functions.   I just heard it again at a wedding a week ago.   I’ve literally heard this verse as often as John 3:16.    However, this latest time, I reflected more on the ‘as a child’ piece.    Perhaps Paul was suggesting that our childlike faith was the best part of our childhood!   That in growing up, we lost a loving perspective and (sadly) developed an adult feeling of separateness.  I don’t remember analyzing this in school, maybe it was explained or discussed with authority about not being childish;  but I suppose I created and absorbed my own meanings about maturity and acting responsibly.    

Could we actually interprete this more along the same lines that Dr. Wayne Dyer recommends?  That we knew EVERYTHING when we were born and that in our awareness of our humanness, we created an ILLUSION of being separate from God.      Dyer gives an example of how drops of water seek the ocean and once arriving in the flow of the river to join the great seas, it is still just water.    As individual humans, we are only distinct drops of water and if we consider joining with the oneness of the ocean, we can see ourselves as part of the whole.    Fully known. 

It is love that we are.    God is Love.    Everywhere, whole.

One comment

  1. This was an excellent post. Thanks for sharing.



Leave a Reply

