h1

Why the blog, C?

August 16, 2007

Why is it that I can think of brilliant thoughts to post when I’m not sitting in front of the keyboard? Just now, Oscar and I went on a 2+ mile walk down Highland St, and my thoughts bounced back between being grateful for the awesome life I have and being bitter about/towards situations and people that do not deserve my animosity – and mostly that is because I know the vessel that carries the bitterness and resentment and yes, jealousy, is the one most hurt by the poison. Why do we poison ourselves?

Again, I wonder of my motivation for blogging. To find an audience or only personal journalling? Harboring – is that the right word? – delusions of grandeur or just the learning experience of this medium? I marvel at other’s blogs for the beauty and creativity… and then how frustrated that I can’t seem to upload one lousy photo! WordPress says I did, but it’s not showing up yet. Impatience and just finding another reason for self-loathing. See? I’m not so brilliant afterall!

Wayne Dyer says, above all, forgive yourself. Be easy on yourself. And on bookreporter.com I find this challenging and inspiring quote by Somerset Maugham: (oops there’s a W in from of that name…) “It’s a funny thing about life; if you refuse to accept anything but the best, you very often get it.” — W. Somerset Maugham

I love that! Expect the best! Refuse anything lesser! OK, let’s challenge myself to be my best in thoughts – not just in exploration or venting any frustration but turning it around into the lesson to apply. Reminds me of that ol’ saying ‘good enough is the enemy of best’ quote that actually stopped me in my tracks the first time I read it. Eeeks. YEeekksks! Good enough and enough to get by have been mantras in my head for a long time. Oh the thoughts keep jumpin’ in: and then, Marianne Williamson says we are afraid of the light that is within us. We are AFRAID of our best selves. How dis-serving we are that, unserving? that we aren’t sharing ourselves with the world.

That said, here’s my chance to share. Let anyone stumble upon it and let them be themselves. good day

Leave a Reply

